cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VirtualBox 2.0.2 released!

samuria
Grafter

VirtualBox 2.0.2 released!

I have been using virtual pc's for many years but have just come across this FREE one from Sun Virtua lBox free from
http://VirtualBox 2.0.2 released!
Its very impressive and easy to use and I have found it better than any other. It has templates for most O/S like linux vista xp win98 etc. so you create a new pc select the profile from the list and it sets up most of it for you.
For those that dont know this software lets you run another O/S virtual on your pc with no risk to your O/S no messing with the hard drive but it runs just like a real pc with cd.s sound network etc and its very simple to set up.
It has the advantage that you can put on a base O/S like XP and then install virtual pc and run those so there is less risk of virus etc, the best of this software is it lets you create a snapshot so you can roll back.
If you have never tried it give it a go as its just a file on your hd you can back it up and have a complete system which can be run on any pc as its hardware in dependant so if you get another pc it will still work
4 REPLIES 4
God
Grafter

Re: VirtualBox 2.0.2 released!

Thanks for the info Sam I will take a look, seems the link isnt right, but this should be. http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads
Cheers
timlake
Grafter

Hows it compare to VMWare?
colintivy
Rising Star

Hi folks!
I am sad that this thread seems to have stalled. VirtualBox looks interesting, thanks Jim, but no-one seems to have made a comparison with VMWare. I want to try to run a basic Windows (98SE disk here) set-up within Ubuntu (8.04) so tha I can use some harware with only Win drivers and nothinbg about in Linux. Any views???
colintivy :[
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Fixes: 21

I use Virtualbox (Now 3.02 BTW) on Ubuntu 9.04. I use the non-open version to get usb support. (Still free for personal use)
You want to run hardware what hardware?