cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using PC software

ard126k

Using PC software

Hi
My daughter would love to buy a Mac for her office but the accounting software she uses (Sage) isn't available for Macs.
Her options seem to be BootCamp, Parallel PC, or buy a boring old PC.
Can anyone comment on the pros and cons of BootCamp vs. Parallel PC? She's been told Parallel PC is "slow"?Huh
Cheers
Alex.
10 REPLIES 10
Waldo
Grafter

Re: Using PC software

Crossover may be a good alternative if Sage is supported and the only Windows app your daughter needs to use
acr
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Bootcamp is provided as part of the operating system and therefore has no additional cost to it other than the purchase of Windows itself. I have no experience of using it but from what I have read Windows runs quicker and better on a Mac using Boot Camp than on many PC's. The downside is that you have to reboot your Mac every time you want to switch between Windows and Mac. Bootcamp will currently run Windows XP (SP2 or SP3 disc required) or Vista.  Apple are aiming to provide support for Windows 7 by the end on 2009.
The other option is to use virtual machine software such as Parallels or VMware Fusion. They both integrate with Mac OSX allowing you to go from Mac to Windows at a click of the mouse without rebooting. I have tried both but much prefer VMware Fusion. A new version of VMware Fusion (version 3) is being launched on 27 October which fully supports Windows 7.
http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/overview.html
I currently use VMware Fusion 2 to run Windows XP on Mac OSX Snow Leopard and use it mainly to run Microsoft Money. VMware Fusion opens quickly on my Mac Pro and Windows XP operates just as quickly as on a PC. If you want to have Windows and Mac OSX programs open at the same time then you will need lots of RAM (I have 7GB) or the opened programs may run slowly. Also it is not suitable for any graphically intensive program or game.