cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Usenet error

m_g_davies
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 11-08-2007

Usenet error

Hi
does anyone know why I would get an error trying to read from groups on news.force9.net - 480 authentication required?
the server is just set up asis in Agent, ie no login required.
thanks
6 REPLIES
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Usenet error

Hi there,
I assume you're on a Force9 connection? Do you have problems with any other services? Does it work if you do authenticate?
m_g_davies
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Usenet error

If I authenticate then I get 481 - Access denied via @ auth server. With secure password: 501 bad authentication.
Revert to no login - I can get new headers ok it seems.
I was able just now to get a couple of bodies by double-clicking in the group.
But bodies marked for retrieval, when Agent tries to get them, sit in the queue and timeout, endlessly retry, then give the 480 message until I stop them.
Odd and somewhat frustrating!
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,224
Thanks: 966
Fixes: 81
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Usenet error

Might be worth deleting and recreating the account in Agent. Avoid using authentication as it will not work. The only requisite is that you're connecting via your Force9 connection.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

m_g_davies
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Usenet error

Tried deleting and recreating the server in agent. Hasn't helped much.  Still getting 480 Authentication required from the server.
I can get headers ok and refresh groups,  I can sometimes get a single selected body. However getting more than one selected body or any number of marked bodies causes a timeout.
Watching it in Wireshark it seems that the body data is retrieved but then agent waits for something and then times out.
May be a bug in Agent.  I'll try this with another newsreader and post an update here. 
m_g_davies
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Usenet error

ok the answer was simple - I was using the wrong address - should have been usenet.f9.net.uk. Duh.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,224
Thanks: 966
Fixes: 81
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Usenet error

Shouldn't make any difference as both host names point to the same server:
C:\Documents and Settings\bpullen>nslookup news.force9.net
Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    europe.isp.giganews.com
Address:  216.196.109.145
Aliases:  news.force9.net, usenet.force9.net, nntp-readers.plus.net

nslookup usenet.f9.net.uk
Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    europe.isp.giganews.com
Address:  216.196.109.145
Aliases:  usenet.f9.net.uk, usenet.force9.net, nntp-readers.plus.net

If you have more than four threads open to the server at any one time then I think you'll start getting username/password prompts.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵