Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Uploading Photos

southken
Rising Star
Fixes: 2

Uploading Photos

Hi, just a query I have, I uploaded a 100 photos to be printed with an online photo shop (crashed and I didn't get them, but that's another story), I noticed that it had used 4gb of disk space.  What would that be used for and is there any way I can get it back by deleting something?  Sorry, I'm not very technical.
14 REPLIES 14
shutter
Community Veteran
Fixes: 65

Re: Uploading Photos

If you "uploaded" them to a website, for them to print off for you,....the 4GB probably refers to the total size of your 100 photos.... not the actual disc space on your hard drive....
to cut down the size of the files you  are uploading... you can use "FastImageResizer"....very fast and very easy to use. http://adionsoft.net/fastimageresize/
After downloading and installing, it will leave a icon on the desktop.... all you need to do is to drag and drop the pic(s) you want resized onto the icon... and it will do the job in seconds...
If you have folders and folders of pics... I.e. one for each day.. the program can be set in the "options" to use the same file name and put the resized pics in the same folder in a sub-folder called "Resized" ... the file name will be  something like  My Pic 001.jpg  and in the resized folder it will be  My Pic 001 800x600.jpg
As an example... I have an original pic sized at....  2,109 kb and after re-sizing ... it is... 158kb..... so very much smaller file size... which means that it can be sent via email or uploaded almost instantly, instead of taking forever... !.. looking at the pics side by side, it is impossible to see any difference between the two...
southken
Rising Star