cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading My PSU( SOLVED )

Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,817
Thanks: 315
Registered: ‎13-07-2009

Upgrading My PSU( SOLVED )

Thought I would start another thread for this, It has came to my attention that the PSU I have In my PC Is bog standard and doesn't quite " cut It" So I am on the hunt for an upgrade, The PSU I have at the moment Is 250w and the model Is FSP250-60GEN 250W 20/24-Pin PSU Power supply http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/B3677-FSP-FSP250-60GEN-250W-20%2f24-Pin-PSU-Power-supply_W0QQitemZ380294267035...
Could I upgrade to this or can anyone recommend me a better one?  http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?moduleno=32150
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Upgrading My PSU

Steve,
It doesn't support SATA drives so not recommended
I would never skimp on a power supply as if it fails it can take out the motherboard and a few other things
Personally I always use Corsair and this, although more expensive, would meet your requirements
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/430w-corsair-cmpsu-430cx-builder-series-80-eff-120mm-fan-single-12v-r...
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/240998
Note the SATA power supplies and a PCIe power feed which is probably needed for a new PCIe card
Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,817
Thanks: 315
Registered: ‎13-07-2009

Re: Upgrading My PSU

Hi Jim,
            Thanks for your advice, I think I will go with the corsair In your second link, Would this fit In my tower? I am sorry I don't have exact measurements to hand. And are they easy to fit? This Is all new to me but I'm good to give It a go.
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Upgrading My PSU

Completely with Jim on this one. I've got Corsairs in both my rigs now and they're great - it's well worth spending a bit more cash, plus you get a 5 year warranty on most models.
EDIT: Standard fittings all round, you won't have any problems. Might be worth (if you have a digital camera) taking a picture of each plug as you remove it so you can make sure everything goes back in.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Upgrading My PSU

Depends on what you are connecting to it.  Wink
If it is only a HDD/DVD and MB then a 350W should be fine, But 450-600W will allow for quieter and surges. Things to check are the Power ratings on EACH rail. A lot of the "higher" power ones are actually lower on the major power rails. So check what your current one allows on the 3.3V/5V/12V lines Amp wise and get one that is 20-50% higher.
E.g. I have a "Macron" 200W one here with the ratings.
5V - 20A
3.3V - 10A
12V - 8A
and a "WIn Power 750W" one
5V - 45A
3.3V - 32A
12V - 33A
So even though it is 3.5X the "power" it only has 2x on the 5V line,
As Jim said if you are using sata drives then a psu with sata tails is useful, but I used to use the adaptors.
As to fitting, unless you have a SMALL FF or a DELL or similar, then most are interchangeable.
As to buying one I like the Ebuyer specials, they are quiet (having a 80-120mm fan) and haven't had any fail on me, (that was the 500W gold ones)
Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,817
Thanks: 315
Registered: ‎13-07-2009

Re: Upgrading My PSU

Well here Is what It says on the back of the PSU I am using at the moment and I have a Sata hard drive so def best to go with the corsair.
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
gadfly
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎02-09-2010

Re: Upgrading My PSU

That Maplin PSU is bound to be a low-quality unit. I wouldn't pay less than £30 for a 400W PSU.
Antec Power Supply Calculator - http://www.antec.outervision.com/
Here's a nice inexpensive quality PSU - http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CA-033-CS&groupid=701&catid=123&subcat=
Here's a nice inexpensive graphics card - http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/graphics-cards/275548/sapphire-radeon-hd-5450
Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,817
Thanks: 315
Registered: ‎13-07-2009

Re: Upgrading My PSU

Little update, I will be getting the PSU that Oldjim has recommended, I think the PSU I have at the moment passes as minimum requirements, So a new PSU Is definitely needed, Plus the PSU Is over a year old so I believe It may have lost a bit of Its power.
Have to wait till next year though as post will probably be a bit flaky. The machine Is not running anything powerful, It Is kept at stock so should be OK for now.
Edit, Just to update, I got one of the Corsairs PSU recommended by our forum moderator " Oldjim " and fitted It yesterday, Works fine, Pretty quiet and much safer than that cheap and nasty thing that was In It.
got mine from here
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.