cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade to SSD Help

FIXED
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,285
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Upgrade to SSD Help

We have an Asus P8Z68-V

I think an SSD drive maybe the best way forward to get a little more snap, would this drive work ?

The board appears to have 2 sata III 6GB ports as far as I can see, although we need to replace 1 TB I guess most of the vids 'n' docs/mp3's can stay on the old drive.

This 1 seems a little slower/cheaper, any thoughts please ?

 

 

19 REPLIES
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,485
Thanks: 648
Fixes: 58
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

I use a 128GB SDD as a boot/windows disk (Crucial MX100) and have a 2TB normal for data and most programs.

Changing from hard disk to SSD, you notice the speed difference especially in boot times (went from minutes to under 15 seconds). But I really doubt I would notice much more of a difference if I had spent more on a faster SSD in every day use.

Get what you can afford, the change to even a slow SSD from a mechanical hard disk is so large, you need not waste money going for the ever faster SSD.

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,285
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

Thanks for the info.

It was a pure guess as an upgrade, so I'm happy that it will make a sizeable impact on speed, I wasn't sure if either of the two ssd's I posted above would play nice though with my older motherboard P8Z68-V before I buy one.

I know it says 6GB a sec, but you know how these things are.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,237
Thanks: 1,321
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

@30FTTC06 - You don't say how much RAM (or indeed processor) you have. As this board is capable of supporting 32GB of memory that would always be my first port of call when it come to tweaks. As @SpendLessTime says you will notice an increase in load / access time, but as programs are executed in memory this to me is always the best place to start. It's all very well having a fast disk, but if after your read you're lacking in memory it kind of defeats the purpose.

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,485
Thanks: 648
Fixes: 58
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

The speeds for the SSD interface are the maximum and the interfaces are usually 100% backward compatible. I've installed SSD's rated at 6GB into laptops which can only handle 3GB interfaces without issues. Then again I only use Crucial and never buy the latest one to market. I'll let others find the faults first. 

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,285
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

8GB memory/2500k CPU

In all honesty I thought both of these machines had 16GB each which is why I didn't see the need to add the facts about ram or cpu which I agree is also an important factor which I will address.

I'm looking at some of this CMX16GX3M2A1333C9 then move 8GB to the other machine but I think I have a huge cpu fan covering 2 of the slots, I might be able to move the fan on the clips!

 

I am now told that the slowdown on this pc is of lag!!!!!!! with further conversation, to world of warcraft servers... hmmm

 

 

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,237
Thanks: 1,321
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

Fix

Well in that case you might be able to get better results by getting a static IP and it'll only cost you a fiver. Wink

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,285
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

@Mook Am I to assume this is a known problem then ?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,237
Thanks: 1,321
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

@30FTTC06 - From what I've read this appears to provide a, well I don't know if solution is the right answer so I'll say better connection for some of the users, but I've not read the whole thread as it's to large, and selfishly we're not victims of it so have no real interest in reading it all. But on skimming through my unread posts this is my understanding. But please double check for yourself.

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,285
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

@Mook Cheers for the tip, I see in the thread you mentioned your guys not having any issue though ?

We had a problem the other day which amounted to quite a bit of packet loss which settled after a router re-boot.

Leaving me looking at a strange/unfamiliar  route! something like the following..

tcptraceroute plus.net
Selected device eth0, address 192.168.0.44, port 38089 for outgoing packets
Tracing the path to plus.net (212.159.9.2) on TCP port 80 (http), 30 hops max
 1  192.168.0.254  0.855 ms  0.456 ms  0.425 ms
 2  * * *
 3  * 129.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk (195.166.143.129) 8.353 ms  24.718 ms
 4  be3-3100.pcn-ir01.plus.net (195.166.143.128)  9.672 ms  9.298 ms  8.675 ms
 5  gr-11-1-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.185)  9.451 ms  9.713 ms  8.531 ms
 6  ae1.pcl-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.1)  12.262 ms  10.807 ms  9.815 ms
 7  po2.pcl-gw01.plus.net (195.166.129.41)  9.198 ms  8.824 ms  10.199 ms
 8  84-93-224-48.plus.net (84.93.224.48)  15.282 ms  15.513 ms  14.630 ms
 9  reth0.ptp-elbfw.plus.net (84.92.0.109)  15.775 ms  17.233 ms  15.510 ms
10  10.104.128.53  22.078 ms * *
11  portal.plus.net (212.159.9.2) [open]  20.169 ms  16.741 ms  15.984 ms
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,285
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

  Sanity check to the machine running WoW from 2 other machines


                                     Packets               Pings
 Host                                Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
 1. 192.168.0.16                      0.0%  4674    0.6   0.5   0.3   9.5   0.4
                                       Packets               Pings
 Host                                Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
 1. 192.168.0.16                      0.0%  4693    3.8   0.8   0.7  10.2   0.5

Another external route check which appears ok

Keys:  Help   Display mode   Restart statistics   Order of fields   quit
                                       Packets               Pings
 Host                                Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
 1. 192.168.0.254                     0.0%  4747    0.8   0.8   0.7   4.2   0.1
 2. ???
 3. 195.166.143.129                  83.7%  4747    9.0   9.5   8.3  88.2   4.9
 4. 195.166.143.128                   0.7%  4746   10.9  11.2   8.6 147.6  11.5
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,485
Thanks: 648
Fixes: 58
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

@30FTTC06

Yes you are definitely on the new network (see line 4 pcn-ir01 as all the new network gateways have the letters "-IR" in their name). So you may have been suffering from the issue linked to above(although not everyone on the network did or does)

I'd assume that @Mook and the others, are like myself and have a static IP. I've had one since I joined many moons ago so even if I have been moved onto the new network, I'd not be able to spot it. The static IP alters how your traffic is routed from the exchange through the Plusnet networks so on the new network it looks like you are still on the old one. Totally hidden from view and needs a Plusnet staffer to confirm it.

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,285
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

@SpendLessTime Thanks for the explanation on the routing.

 I have my finger poised which makes me feel a little Sad

 

Screenshot at 2016-09-11 18-50-27.png

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,485
Thanks: 648
Fixes: 58
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

@30FTTC06

Remember the static IP does not solve the issue for all people but the number of failures can be counted on the fingers of one hand so far.

A fiver if it works is worth it to get the internet working again. Although I do have sympathy with the view that you shouldn't  have to pay to solve Plusnet's problems. But if I was being hassled by my partner and kids I would pay the money and then if it fixed it, start a formal complaint to get the fiver back.

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,285
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Upgrade to SSD Help

@SpendLessTime Any idea how long for the change to take effect ?