cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to connect router to set-top box

Cazsq2021
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎25-05-2021

Unable to connect router to set-top box

Hi

As per title, my router is in my hallway and the set-up box is in living room. I'm using powerline adapters in both mains sockets respective to the router and set-top box however it's still not connecting.

Can anyone advise on a way around this. I would like to avoid trailing cables.

Many thanks

Carol
7 REPLIES 7
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,516
Thanks: 6,305
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Unable to connect router to set-top box


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to Tech Help

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,619
Thanks: 4,324
Fixes: 345
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Unable to connect router to set-top box

@Cazsq2021 

If the set top box has been connected to a different router then try a factory reset on the set top box and set it up from scratch.

If it’s a new set up see this https://community.plus.net/t5/Tech-Help-Software-Hardware-etc/Powerline-Unit-Performance/m-p/1607450...

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Cazsq2021
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎25-05-2021

Re: Unable to connect router to set-top box

@Baldrick1
Hi
Thanks for your reply. The router and set-top box are both the same however following a room refurb and movement of sockets I moved the telephone line to the Hallway as it was originally in the living room. I didn't think this would affect the signal.

Any thoughts?

Thanks again
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,516
Thanks: 6,305
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Unable to connect router to set-top box

Don't suppose the powerline adapters are on a different wiring ring?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Cazsq2021
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎25-05-2021

Re: Unable to connect router to set-top box

Hi Dvorak

Thanks for your reply.
Unfortunately I haven't a clue about that one.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,619
Thanks: 4,324
Fixes: 345
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Unable to connect router to set-top box

@Cazsq2021 

 Then click on the link in my earlier post and you will learn how to find out.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Cazsq2021
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎25-05-2021

Re: Unable to connect router to set-top box

Thanks I will.