cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to access particular website

Claremac
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎05-08-2007

Unable to access particular website

Hi
Hope someone can help me as I haven't been able to access a website at http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/ ; from either of my PCs for the last 3/4 days. I can access the main website at www.moneysavingexpert.com but not the forum even if I go through the main website. This is a real pain as I am moving house in 4 weeks and am getting lots of good advice there. I have had a few problems with it in the past but it has always been OK after a few hours.
I have tried deleting temp files, flushdns, turned the Windows firewall on and the Panda one off to try again and still no go. Please can anyone suggest anything I could try? Many thanks.
Clare
14 REPLIES
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Unable to access particular website

I am using Firefox and have just accessed both sites
I am currently connected to the "Telehouse North, Juniper 1" gateway. This gateway is sometimes known as ptn-ag1.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,815
Thanks: 1,995
Fixes: 256
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Unable to access particular website

It's working ok here, my OH is addicted to it. I remember that i had the same issue a while ago and it just righted itself
What happens if you run a tracert on it? I get:
Tracing route to forums.moneysavingexpert.com [213.129.82.53]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
 1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  192.168.0.1
 2    37 ms    34 ms    40 ms  lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.72]
 3    35 ms    35 ms    35 ms  ge0-0-0-504.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.90]
 4    35 ms    34 ms    37 ms  vl23.thn-gw2.plus.net [212.159.4.20]
 5    34 ms    34 ms    34 ms  te2-3.thn-gw1.plus.net [212.159.1.57]
 6    36 ms    33 ms    34 ms  linx2.ukcore.bt.net [195.66.226.10]
 7    36 ms    36 ms    36 ms  core2-pos0-0-0-10.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [62.6.204.93]
 8    35 ms    35 ms    35 ms  62.6.204.94
 9    35 ms    35 ms    35 ms  interconnect2-gig2-0.kingston.fixed.bt.net [194.72.3.69]
10    39 ms    37 ms    38 ms  ftip002860169.interconnect2.kingston.fixed-nte.bt.net [6
11    38 ms    38 ms    48 ms  bgp-gw-1-ge0-2.ash.core.thebunker.net [62.6.152.186]
12    38 ms    39 ms    38 ms  ash-abr-1-a.ash.thebunker.net [213.129.64.238]
13    38 ms    37 ms    38 ms  ash-ce-1-a.thebunker.net [213.129.78.1]
14    39 ms    38 ms    38 ms  mse-vip-1.hosted-at.thebunker.net [213.129.82.53]
Trace complete.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Claremac
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎05-08-2007

Re: Unable to access particular website

Hi guys, thanks for the responses. I should have said that I know that it's not a problem with the website as I asked a friend to try it. I have to confess to not knowing what a Tracert was  Roll eyes but I looked it up and hope I got it right. The result was that from 14 to 30 I got Request Timed Out. (I would have cut and pasted but it won't let me.) Does this tell me anything? Actually, that should read "Does that tell you anything?" as it tells me nothing Grin
ddunford
Grafter
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Unable to access particular website

Claremac,
Have you tried emailing the web master of the site to ensure they have no blocked your IP address? just a thought as i cant think of anything else that would stop you from browsing to that particular site as i presume everything else about your connection is fine?
paulby
Grafter
Posts: 1,619
Registered: ‎26-07-2007

Re: Unable to access particular website

I had a similar problem with that website which was resolved by changing the MTU on my PC to 1430.
Try following the advice here and see if things improve.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Unable to access particular website

I can definitely access those forums.
I spend large amounts of my day in there.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,815
Thanks: 1,995
Fixes: 256
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Unable to access particular website

Quote from: Jameseh
I spend large amounts of my day in there.

Hope your boss doesn't read this then Wink

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Unable to access particular website

Erm, it's part of my job...
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,720
Thanks: 934
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Unable to access particular website

Have you tried fiddling with your MTU - that sometimes comes in to play with people being unable to access particular sites.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,868
Thanks: 1,633
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Unable to access particular website

Quote

I can definitely access those forums.
I spend large amounts of my day in there.

Have you got Roman ancestors...... spending so much time in forums ?  Roll eyes
Claremac
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎05-08-2007

Re: Unable to access particular website

Thanks for the ideas. I tried changing the MTU but nothing changed. I have emailed the webmaster so I'll see what they say. Everything else about the line is OK (not as fast as I'd like but hey ho  Grin)
Highlighted
Claremac
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎05-08-2007

Re: Unable to access particular website

Unfortunately I received an automated email from the Webmaster saying that as they had thousands of emails a day they could not respond individually and gave a list of FAQs including a link to FAQs for the Chat forums which (you guessed it) I can't access! Does anyone have any further ideas please?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Unable to access particular website

Reboot your router, you may have done it and not mentioned it, neither has anybody else suggested it ... worth a try?  Wink
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Claremac
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎05-08-2007

Re: Unable to access particular website

I suddenly remembered that I hadn't replied on here that I had fixed the problem  Smiley, came on to say so and guess what? There was the answer!  Grin Yes, Godsell4, it was the router and I had eventually realised that that was the one thing I hadn't tried. Thanks for suggesting it anyway and I hope that it may help someone doing a search on a similar subject in the future.