Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB ' flash' drive usage.

dabow
Rising Star

USB ' flash' drive usage.

I am new to using USB memory sticks.
I can copy/back up basic files i.e. photos etc. but cannot see how to copy /save a complete program like, e.g. an antivirus or firewall program to the stick.
Is it also possible to download programs off the internet directly to the USB stick ?
Any guidance for this novice would be appreciated !
9 REPLIES 9
pierre_pierre
Grafter

Re: USB ' flash' drive usage.

What operating system are you using?
I have a stick that I use for travelling that has a complete system on it,  then I can plug that into say my sister machine and not interfere with her progs
dabow
Rising Star

I am using Windows XP with SP3 and have recently aquired a couple of Sony 4Gb sticks for general back up and storage use.
pierre_pierre
Grafter

just use Win Explorer, drag and drop from one location to you stick, it will copy and not move doing that.  You can specify where you want to place files downloaded from web, when you are in explorer you stick might be any drive from D upwards. but you should not need to know that, just browse for location when you are downloading
Santiago
Grafter

If you would like to run applications on your usb drive you might find this site useful http://portableapps.com/
I have Thunderbird and Firefox portable on my USB drive.
dabow
Rising Star

Thanks ' pierre_pierre' and 'satiago' for all the information.
I will explore all the options, when time permits,to see how it works.
Thanks again for the replies. Smiley
Santiago
Grafter

You're welcome
If you need more help give us a shout Smiley
7up
Community Veteran
Fixes: 17