cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Turbo button

Community Veteran
Posts: 14,439
Thanks: 728
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Turbo button

Hi guys
Right this big case I got has a turbo button on it and a 3 digit LCD display.
Any idea what they're for and wil they work with a normal ATX motherboard?
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,238
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Turbo button

i expect the turbo button lights up a little lamp on the front of the case Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,439
Thanks: 728
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Turbo button

I gotta stop being so lazy... found the anwer on google lol
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,576
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎13-04-2007

Re: Turbo button

Eh that takes me back to the good old days when all pc had the turbo. It was originally used for old programs which coudnt handle the high speed of the new computer so they set it back to match the 8080 cpu and software which could handle the new super speeds you pressed turbo.
On some they were posh and showed you the speed on a led which you could set by jumpers so it meant nothing. On later ones it did nothing but put on a yellow light 
alanb
Grafter
Posts: 459
Registered: ‎24-05-2007

Re: Turbo button

Oooh the old Turbo button - now that one sounds like an old XT or AT case. Is it really an LCD display, or did you mean LED.
In the early days of IBM clone PCs, a lot of clone manufacturers introduced motherboards that used faster system clocks than a genuine IBM machine. However, this caused timekeeping problems for some versions of DOS, some programs and also some expansion cards, so the Turbo button was invented to allow you to switch the system clock between standard IBM PC speed (4.7 Mz for an XT or 10.0 Mz for an AT if I recall correctly) or high speed. The display was typically used to show the clock speed, on some machines it would just display 'Hi' or 'Lo'.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,439
Thanks: 728
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Turbo button

Yeah sorry  - meant LED lol
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
community
Grafter
Posts: 666
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Turbo button

Haven't a clue what you are all talking about with 'turbos' but I wonder if you can tell me what a 'turbo' key is doing on an old computer
keyboard I have?
I have never known what it was for  Smiley
cheers
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,002
Thanks: 1,683
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Turbo button

We had a dog called "Turbo"...... he didn`t do much either..... !  Roll eyes
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Turbo button

The turbo key often did a similar thing to the turbo button on the case detailed earlier. It allowed via software to slow down or speed up the processor clock for the same reasons as mentioned earlier.
It was used in the days of 8080/8088/486DX processors that ran at clock speeds of 4.77 or 8Mhz (yes MegaHertz, not GigaHertz) where you could switch between the speeds. It has no use today except where you can map the key to a windows function / shortcut.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,439
Thanks: 728
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Turbo button

And there was me hoping it would be like the Turbo button from KnightRider or Airwolf Wink
Ah well, I'll just have to put up with it doing nothing but looking 'retro' lol
Cheers guys!
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
techguy
Grafter
Posts: 2,540
Registered: ‎12-09-2008

Re: Turbo button

Ah yes, those were the days