cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Too many devices connected to Hub One?

IceColdRum
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎13-08-2013

Too many devices connected to Hub One?

I think my router might be starting to struggle with the amount of devices I'm connecting to it especially around this time of year where friends and family are using my wifi as well... currently I have probably just under 10 devices connected to the router (A Plusnet Hub One) but it will regularly kick off a device or some devices just won't connect such as my Amazon Echo :/ when I lived at home I got round this in the end by connecting a second Hub One as a slave what I wanted to know is if it's possible to benefit this way by repeating the same wifi SSID instead of having a slave running a separate network? I may invest in a better router early next year but currently I'm looking for budget friendly options and I have a second Hub One knocking around

Thank you

7 REPLIES
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,275
Thanks: 316
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Too many devices connected to Hub One?

Wifi was never designed for a lot of devices - it was just an extra intended for a couple of laptops.

Why not try splitting your 2.4 & 5GHz wifi so that you can choose which (if any) devices can be steered via the 5GHz network by using different SSID names for the two bands.

Try connecting your fixed devices with fixed ethernet wiring.

I can't understand why people actually buy devices such as the Amazon Echo to upload their conversations to a multinational company?

IceColdRum
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎13-08-2013

Re: Too many devices connected to Hub One?

Unfortunately none of my devices have Ethernet capability even my laptop doesn't have one (much to my annoyance!) 

 

I'll give your other ideas ago though

Baldrick1
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,153
Thanks: 939
Fixes: 70
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Too many devices connected to Hub One?


@IceColdRum wrote:

Unfortunately none of my devices have Ethernet capability even my laptop doesn't have one 

How about one of these? https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00M77HMU0/ref=asc_df_B00M77HMU057863804/?tag=googshopuk-21&creative=221...


 

VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,275
Thanks: 316
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Too many devices connected to Hub One?

I've never tried one of these gadgets - but it seems worth a try, since you can always return it if it doesn't suit.

"The USB 3.0 male A to RJ45 female adapter supports 10/100/1000 Ethernet at USB 3.0 speeds (640Mbs), which is faster than 10/100 adapters and most wireless connections" - I always thought that Ethernet negotiated either 100 or 1000 speeds, nothing in between, so I would expect that you would be restricted to 100Mbits/sec.

Might be wrong though. Thumbs Up

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,772
Thanks: 1,637
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Too many devices connected to Hub One?

I bought these to give me dual NICs on my 6 Node Pi Cluster and I've found them to be faultless, even on the Pi it was Plug and Play and well worth the money for me.

Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Thanks: 743
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Too many devices connected to Hub One?


@VileReynard wrote:

Wifi was never designed for a lot of devices - it was just an extra intended for a couple of laptops.


802.11a/b may not have been however later developments are specifically designed to handle as much data / devices as possible.

2.4GHz wifi vs a 4G phone mast operating at 800MHz with hundreds of users. Go figure!

 

It's not about the frequency so much as to how the devices on that same frequency time the way they transmit and receive data packets. Admittedly there are other 4G bands at 1.8GHz and 2.6GHz but at those frequencies the range is less anyway and the former two bands are still lower than WiFi.

I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
madswitcher
Grafter
Posts: 268
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Too many devices connected to Hub One?

Hi there

I had a similar situation and ran a single wired connection to the back of our house and put another wireless router there that connects to a Hub One Ethernet port.  If you have no Ethernet ports free, you can put a cheap Gigabit Ethernet switch on it to act as a multiplexor.  We also did this running a single cable from the lounge to the Hub One in the garage that connects the TV, Sky box and blue ray player.  Be careful of doing this with a Amazon Fire (if I remember correctly) as that runs faster over a wireless connection.

I also found it useful to draw a diagram and 'zone' the house to see what was best where.

Hope this helps

Mike