cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thompson tg585 router query

Community Veteran
Posts: 8,398
Thanks: 894
Fixes: 9
Registered: 02-08-2007

Thompson tg585 router query

Swapped my voyager 210 for the Thompson tg585, set up went fine until the end when I got the following message,
AUTHENTICATION REQUIRED
A User name and password are being requested by http://dsldevice.lan. ; The site says "Thompson Gateway"
Despite trying my user name and password for plusnet and Administrator password and security code on the bottom of the router the message kept coming back.
Does anyone know what all that is about... nothing is mentioned in the helpful book supplied by plusnet  with the router
12 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Thompson tg585 router query

The default user is ‘Administrator’ and the default password is blank.
From the manual
Community Veteran
Posts: 8,398
Thanks: 894
Fixes: 9
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Thompson tg585 router query

ok
Thanks for that.
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Thompson tg585 router query

its no use looking at the PN help it aint there yet.
but your username is as on page 3 of the black and white manual, bottom left.
depends who your parent is, i.e. for plus net it is  fred@plusdsl.net
the password is the one you would use to log onto the member centre
Community Veteran
Posts: 8,398
Thanks: 894
Fixes: 9
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Thompson tg585 router query

pierre-pierre,
sorry its not taking that..........  Mypassword@plusdsl.net
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,506
Thanks: 861
Fixes: 53
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Thompson tg585 router query

According to the Plusnet booklet I have, at the end of easy set-up one is asked to choose a username and password for accessing the router's web interface in future. Then a summary page is displayed and if everything is OK clicking Start causes the router to restart and connect to the Internet.
Did that process complete for you?
David
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Thompson tg585 router query

Quote from: gleneagles
pierre-pierre,
sorry its not taking that..........  Mypassword@plusdsl.net

are you on Plus net or one of the other ie force 9 or MAAF
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,486
Registered: 02-10-2008

Re: Thompson tg585 router query

This is exactly the stumbling block my friend had with this router, the instruction are not clear enough obviously.
The user name is:  Administrator
and the password is the units serical number
CPxxxxxxxxx    up to but EXCLUDING [    the left square bracket
that got my friend going,
hope it works for you
stage 9 at
http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/hardware/t585v7.shtml
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Thompson tg585 router query

couldnt find that page when set mine up,   if you have fiddled with the Admin name or password, reset the logger to default, push a small implement in the hole on the back near the on/off button, hold for 5 or so seconds, the lights on the front should go out an a red light appear, when this goes out it has rest to default with Mal's password
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Thompson tg585 router query

We may be all talking at cross purposes
is this the page you have reached - if so the username is username@plusdsl.net (providing you are with Plusnet and not Force9 or MAAF etc.) and the password is the login password to Plusnet
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Thompson tg585 router query

and another cross    "sorry its not taking that..........  Mypassword@plusdsl.net"  it aint password@plusdsl, its username@plusdsl
Community Veteran
Posts: 8,398
Thanks: 894
Fixes: 9
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Thompson tg585 router query

oldjim.. I am past that page with the log in and password, this message came up at the very end.
Pierre-Pierre... no the admin and password were not fiddled with... in fact I thought that might have been the problem, in that it was asking me to change admin & password & because I had not done this it was displaying the authentication required message.
It seems to have sorted its self out as I am using the router at present without any problems but I was just curious about this Authentication message, I guess it could cause problems for someone setting up broadband for the first time.
As previously mentioned I was using a voyager 210... could software left by this router caused the problem ?
Anyway thanks for all your responses.
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Thompson tg585 router query

Dont think so, I changed from a 2110 (4 Port ) to thomson, didnt remove anything.  I must say the info is a but lacking in clarity as I had the same problem as you and Mal