cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Market Has Rejected Linux Desktop's

Steve
Seasoned Pro

The Market Has Rejected Linux Desktop's

Quote...I’ve been running Linux on PCs since 1998, when Red Hat still cared about the desktop and Mandrake was supposed to be the distribution that was going to bring Linux to the masses. That was also about the time that the mainstream media got infatuated with the story of the free operating system from the Finnish hacker that was going to bring down Microsoft Windows.
Spoiler alert: I’m going to give away the ending now. It never happened. In the decade since it was first proclaimed as the “Windows killer,” Linux on the desktop has made virtually no progress in real adoption numbers. According to market share trackers (based on real PC activity and not just sales) such Net Applications, StatCounter, W3Counter, and others, the market share of Linux has been hovering around just 1-2% of total PC operating system installations for a decade.
Even in the past two years since the netbook phenomenon began with Linux as its primary OS, Linux market share has failed to make a major jump. The chart below, based on Internet visitors tracked by Net Applications, shows the trajectory of Linux desktop market share over the past 24 months.End of quote..
More details here..http://blogs.techrepublic.com.com/hiner/?p=3372
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
22 REPLIES 22
VileReynard
Hero
Fixes: 20

Re: The Market Has Rejected Linux Desktop's

In that article, http://itknowledgeexchange.techtarget.com/enterprise-linux/can-ubuntu-linux-become-a-windows-killer/ says:-