cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Technicolor 582n set-up as a Client Mode device for TV

DDNewCust
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: 22-12-2014

Technicolor 582n set-up as a Client Mode device for TV

I was looking at getting a TL-WR702N to set it up in Client Mode for my TV or Humax to get I-player and other stuff on the TV via the wireless network. Running a network cable is not an option unfortunately.
I got the definition of Client Mode from the TP web-site. Definition: The TL-WR702N is connected to another device via Ethernet core and acts as an adaptor to send/receive the wireless signal from your wireless network.
But then I realised that I have a unused Technicolor 582n sitting in a box and may be I could use that for the same job. So the questions are:-
1) Can the 582n do this Client Mode?
2) Is there a guide to help me.
Any pointers would be gratefully received.
10 REPLIES
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,827
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Technicolor 582n set-up as a Client Mode device for TV

Does the TV support DLNA?
I can stream video files from my PC to TV via a standard router over a power plugs connection (I haven't tried wireless).
I would investigate get_iplayer to download from iplayer.
http://www.icefilms.info/index allows you to stream or download some quite decent videos.

DDNewCust
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: 22-12-2014

Re: Technicolor 582n set-up as a Client Mode device for TV

Quote from: vilefoxdemonofdoom
Does the TV support DLNA?
I can stream video files from my PC to TV via a standard router over a power plugs connection (I haven't tried wireless).
I would investigate get_iplayer to download from iplayer.

The device is a Humax HDR-FOX T2 which feeds to the TV. From what I have read (very little) I believe it can pull DLNA content.
Thanks for your suggestion but I really don't like the power plugs internet connections, on another posting they cause other issues with ADSL2+ connections (sensitive ones).
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,827
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Technicolor 582n set-up as a Client Mode device for TV

The type of physical connection isn't important.
If wireless is fast enough, you can use that.
Remember though that data flows PC -->  router  --> TV with some reverse flow, though.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-10-2012

Re: Technicolor 582n set-up as a Client Mode device for TV

The Humax Fox T2 has BBC iPlayer built in and will work with wifi 'out of the box'!
I have one connected to my router via Ethernet, but can see the wifi capability in the set-up.
Geoff,
York.
DDNewCust
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: 22-12-2014

Re: Technicolor 582n set-up as a Client Mode device for TV

Thanks, the real issue is the connection between them, I would really like to know if Technicolor 582n can be set-up in client mode. Once that's done I can move to the next stage of playing with the Humax.
dick:quote
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,474
Thanks: 590
Fixes: 49
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Technicolor 582n set-up as a Client Mode device for TV

Quote
I would really like to know if Technicolor 582n can be set-up in client mode
It can't I'm afraid.
DDNewCust
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: 22-12-2014

Re: Technicolor 582n set-up as a Client Mode device for TV

Thanks MisterW
I also have TalkTalk Huawei HG533 ASDL / Fibre version - Seems to be locked down to TalkTalk.
I don't seem to be about to do anything with that either. Sad
I have looked at DD-WRT and other sites but nothing yet.
dick:quote
DDNewCust
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: 22-12-2014

Re: Technicolor 582n set-up as a Client Mode device for TV

Quote from: NedLudd
....... but can see the wifi capability in the set-up.

I can see the wifi set-up in the Humax , but it is gray'ed out as there is no USB wifi stick in.  Buying a USB wifi stick is another option for me, now I know the  582n can't be used.
I am kind of hoping one of these old wifi routers I have can be used, or may be they are just bin fodder.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,474
Thanks: 590
Fixes: 49
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Technicolor 582n set-up as a Client Mode device for TV

Quote
I have looked at DD-WRT
I believe DD-WRT does support Client mode http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Client_Mode_Wireless so if any of your old routers can be reflashed with DD-WRT then that is an option. See here for supported hardware http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices
DDNewCust
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: 22-12-2014

Re: Technicolor 582n set-up as a Client Mode device for TV

Quote from: MisterW
See here for supported hardware http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices

Thanks for the link MisterW, but unfortunately none do. I will look at another way of doing this.
I am giving up on using the old routers for now.
Thanks for everyone's suggestions.