Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TP-Link 9970 with Netgear R7000

PoBear
Hooked

TP-Link 9970 with Netgear R7000

Hi

I'm relatively new to this so please be gentle.

I've replaced my supplied PlusNet Router with a TP-Link TD-9970. I've tried setting this into bridged mode so I can use it just as a modem and use my R7000 as a router. The two are showing as connected but whatever I try; automatic or manual setup I cannot get an internet connection up.

They are both on the same subnet with different IP addresses and I have set my Plusnet credentials in the R7000 which is set to PPPoE.

Any ideas what I am doing wrong.

Thanks in advance.

22 REPLIES 22
Mav
Fixes: 514

Re: TP-Link 9970 with Netgear R7000

Moderator's note(s):

Thread moved from ADSL Broadband to Tech Help.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

@PoBear just to be sure , do you have an ADSL ( normal broadband ) or an FTTC ( Fibre broadband ) connection ?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

@MisterW They are ADSL I think - checked previous posts.

John
RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 59

@jab1  But those posts are over 7 years old, things could have changed in that time.🙄

jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

True - but maybe they have, maybe they haven't, so I withdraw my comment. When the OP returns, we will know.

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser

The post was originally in the ADSL board but I'd like to be sure before we try and advise. I've used a 9970 in modem (bridge) mode on an FTTC connection, so I know it works in that configuration, but I've never tried it on ADSL (it should work though!)