cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TG585 Reboots

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,670
Thanks: 81
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎17-06-2007

TG585 Reboots

OK this afternoon I  lost my wireless connection and when it came back my ADSL was down and it was down because the new TG585 had decided to reboot itself for no apparent reason. It took a long time for it to reconnect to the internet too.
Nothing else in the house glitched so it probably wasn't a power issue.
So are random reboots a feature of these routers?
10 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,918
Thanks: 1,262
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: TG585 Reboots

My TG585v7 did an uncommanded warm-restart about a month ago, and took over two minutes to reconnect, but hasn't done this since.
Does your router have Plusnet branded or generic firmware on it (Plusnet or Thomson logo shown top right when you log into the router)? Mine has Plusnet test firmware and it was possible the restart was caused by that, though others with this firmware haven't experienced it.
David
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,490
Thanks: 1,950
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: TG585 Reboots

Like spraxyt and a number of other PUG members, I'm also trialling the Plusnet version of the firmware.  I'm on a long and known to be 'flaky' line so mine does do an occasional reboot and has a number of line drops.  Mostly it recovers quickly and unknown to me unless I check the log. Smiley
Often I see this entry in the log: when it 'drops'
Quote
Info Nov 25 15:23:45 SNTP Synchronised to server: 212.159.13.49
Error Nov 25 15:21:39 [CWMP: 161:08:28.610] RTEMS abort socket
Error Nov 25 15:21:39 [CWMP: 161:08:28.610] Connection timed out

The trial flagged a number of such issues which are being reviewed by Thomson and included in a new release of the firmware still under test at the moment.
These niggles apart, the router is stable and somewhat better than the BT Voyager 205 which it replaced Cheesy
Maurice
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,670
Thanks: 81
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎17-06-2007

Re: TG585 Reboots

Quote from: spraxyt
My TG585v7 did an uncommanded warm-restart about a month ago, and took over two minutes to reconnect, but hasn't done this since.
Does your router have Plusnet branded or generic firmware on it (Plusnet or Thomson logo shown top right when you log into the router)? Mine has Plusnet test firmware and it was possible the restart was caused by that, though others with this firmware haven't experienced it.

It came with the plusnet configuration but its got the Thomson Logo on the Top right and the system info shows:

Product Name: TG585 v7
Serial Number: CP0837SF2G5
Software Release: 7.4.4.7
Software Variant: DN
Boot Loader Version: 1.0.0
Product Code: 36315250
Board Name: CANT-P
It just seemed odd that it should do a apparently unrequested restart and then take so long to connect. I went onto it and watched it and it must have taken a couple of minutes for it to re-establish its ADSL connection AFTER it had let me access it via the wireless.
The line is quite stable usally and my stats don't look that bad:
Link Information

Uptime: 1 day, 3:40:25
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 288 / 2,272
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 2.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11.5 / 18.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 29.0 / 47.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 30.0 / 19.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ALCB
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 47
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 18
I have no idea why the data sent/received is just about blank as the Internet connection shows:
Connection Information

Uptime: 1 day, 0:33:42
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 114.28 / 344.15
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,918
Thanks: 1,262
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: TG585 Reboots

Quote from: SteveA
It came with the plusnet configuration but its got the Thomson Logo on the Top right and the system info shows:

Product Name: TG585 v7
Serial Number:
Software Release: 7.4.4.7
Software Variant: DN
Boot Loader Version: 1.0.0
Product Code: 36315250
Board Name: CANT-P

The firmware variant you have (DN) is the generic version of the Plusnet branded variant (DM) I had at the time of  its uncommanded restart. The varient I had automatically connected and configured itself via TR-069. I've installed a new variant today which has been fine since first connection 8 hours ago.
My router information is as follows:
System Information
Product Name: TG585 v7
Serial Number:
Software Release: 7.4.4.7
Software Variant: --
Boot Loader Version: 1.0.0
Product Code: 36315250
Board Name: CANT-P
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 8:12:31
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 7,648
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 16.0 / 30.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 23.0 / 8.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 460,629
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 206
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 172
Connection Information
Uptime: 0 days, 8:12:28
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 5.38 / 15.51
-------------
Data transferred showing as zero/small under Link Information but sensible under Connection Information seems to be a "design feature". No explanation for this has been received yet.
My connection is on maxDSL and Interleaving is on. The high number of FEC errors shown seems peculiar to this make/model, my Netgear DG834G showed a relatively small number.
I assume you are aware you are on a fixed 2M connection where Interleaving is necessarily off. Hence zero FEC errors in your case.
Quote
Link Information

Uptime: 1 day, 3:40:25
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 288 / 2,272
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 47
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 18
David
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,670
Thanks: 81
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎17-06-2007

Re: TG585 Reboots

I needed to be on a fixed 2MB connection. The max was very unstable and I was hitting 0dB SNRs on it last time I tried and often my sync rate was lower than 2MB so sticking on a fixed seemed sensible
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,490
Thanks: 1,950
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: TG585 Reboots

Quote from: SteveA
I have no idea why the data sent/received is just about blank as the Internet connection shows:
Connection Information

Uptime: 1 day, 0:33:42
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 114.28 / 344.15

This problem was noted during the PUG testing - not sure if it is resolved in the new firmware yet?
BTW.  For similar reasons, I am also still on the old 2 Meg fixed service.   BT has just done some 'rework' on cabling to the village and my 'drop cable' so I may be able to give Max a try early in the new year.   Cheesy
Maurice
puddy
Grafter
Posts: 1,571
Registered: ‎10-06-2007

Re: TG585 Reboots

Quote from: spraxyt
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 460,629
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 206
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 172

Looked at your FEC errors every thought of installing a BT i-plate ?(not the cheaper unbranded ones)  my connection been up 7days and shows
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 6 / 21
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 6 / 10
It really helped my connection
puddy
ps routers a speedtouch 716wl 8mg connection
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,175
Thanks: 303
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: TG585 Reboots

Is this good?
Quote
Uptime:	0 days, 1:23:59
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 8,211
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 30.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 11.5 / 27.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 13.5 / 6.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 4,294,967,264 / 662
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 4,294,967,264 / 1
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1

James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: TG585 Reboots

Is that real or made up?
Those number of errors for the period your connection has been up doesn't seem:
a) possible
b) very strange given the number of errored seconds.
If they're legit, and you're not going for a new record (!) can you try rebooting your router and see if you continue to get a ridiculous number of errors?
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,175
Thanks: 303
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: TG585 Reboots

I think it's perfectly OK  Smiley
4,294,967,264  + 31 = 2^32
I think the router can't do arithmetic.