cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Swapping versions

N/A

Swapping versions

Will be having a redundant Vista Business edition when I get Windows 7 disk in October. Can this be installed/transferred onto a laptop with Vista Basic?
18 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,303
Thanks: 968
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Swapping versions

To an extent that depends on the license.
If it is OEM almost certainly not.
If it is a full license - in theory yes although you may have to phone Microsoft for validation.
Quote
15. REASSIGN TO ANOTHER DEVICE.
      a.  Software Other than Windows Anytime Upgrade.    You may uninstall the software
and install it on another device for your use. You may not do so to share this license
between devices.
http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&source=web&ct=res&cd=1&url=http%3A%2F%2Fdownload.microsoft.com%2Fdocuments%2Fuseterms%2FWindows%2520Vista_Business_English_e59f6893-6b14-4262-964c-993ed16d138a.pdf&ei=VUaNSo33DISNjAfhtZ3rDQ&rct=j&q=vista+business+edition+eula&usg=AFQjCNFwwVQbsVvf2sjrRACgLnfdkOJ0ow&sig2=hmFe_V_eDi-qheOh7gGpYA
N/A

Re: Swapping versions

The disk says Reinstallation DVD but it says only use this DVD to reinstall the OS on a Dell PC so I suppose that I won't be able to reuse.
Thank you for the reply.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,303
Thanks: 968
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Swapping versions

Correct - that is an OEM Dell specific disk and won't work on anything other than the computer it was supplied with
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Swapping versions

Should it not work on other Dells?
I've had Dell specific installation CDs in the past which have worked on other Dell PCs (all in the same house).
N/A

Re: Swapping versions

Yes, I thought that maybe it might work on another Dell because it does say 'on a Dell PC', not this particular Vostro laptop.
I'm not one for wasting and it seems a shame to ditch it as it is one of the high-end versions and has a number of enhancements that you don't get on other types.
Things are much more simple with the Penguin!
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Swapping versions

I'd be happy to look after it for you, Poppy Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Swapping versions

Quote from: Jameseh
Should it not work on other Dells?

It may well work, but it will probably contravene the licence.
N/A

Re: Swapping versions

No wonder people moan about Microsoft!  Angry
It's like buying a car and the salesman saying after 10,000 miles you can't drive it anymore.
You buy the license and should be able to do what you want with it IMO.  
Don't know why I'm bothering with W7 anyway - I've got the wobbly windows already with Ubuntu - I mean, what more do you need?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Swapping versions

Ah, but it depends what license you buy.
If you buy a Dell PC for example with an OEM copy, it is at a very low price and licensed ONLY for use on the specific computer you bought it with.
You can buy a full-price copy and have much wider rights if you want - your choice.  Wink
N/A

Re: Swapping versions

Yes, that's why I pre-ordered W7 as it is the full version at a much lower price than it will be when released.
Suppose it's 'you get what you pay for', but still seems a bit stingy to me, especially as it has never been reinstalled/reactivated. 
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,011
Thanks: 1,209
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Swapping versions

For what it is worth.... here`s a littl story...
My  missus bought a laptop from the TV shopping channel,  it was an EVESHAM..... just after she bought it. Evesham went bust ! ! !.
It was running Vista Home Basic. with an (upgrade) disc  (it is described as an upgrade disc but is actually the OS, in case it needs to be re-install)
after about a year, she noticed smoke coming out of the vent holes, and switched off..... took it to a local IT specialist, who pronounced it dead, and needing a new MOBO.
about a week later, I decided to buy a new laptop..... The intention was for her to have the new one, and I keep the old Dell Inspiron 2200 , (running Windows XP Home) 
However she said I should have the new one.  Another DELL, inspiron 15 (as advertised on TV, .........in pacific blue). 
My old Dell only had a small HDD in, so I splashed out and bought a brand new one so she would have plenty of room for her photographs.
I used the disc from the EVESHAM laptop (VISTA HOME BASIC) and installed it on the new HDD in the OLD Dell.... No problem..  went in a treat... no queries from the setup, except the usual one`s... and it updates automatically.
So, I reckon, if you format  the HDD you will probably find it goes on without any problems. !
(disclaimer............ I`m no expert! ! !)

csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Swapping versions

You can use the CD quite happily on any number of dell's - when I was a sysadmin in a school a while ago, it was the easiest way of reimaging PCs - rather than keep 100 identical CDs around, just use one if needed. You can also change the license key to match the one on the computer you are installing it on.
N/A

Re: Swapping versions

Thank you Shutter - a convoluted chain of events but understood after re-reading. The situation was slightly different in that you were taking from Evesham to Dell. In my case it would be donor Dell to a non-Dell machine. However, nothing to lose (except time and patience) by trying I suppose.
CSO - alas, as above, it would not be going onto another Dell but if the other computer was I am reassured that it would work.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Swapping versions

Quote from: poppy
donor Dell to a non-Dell machine

That may not work at all. If it does work it will require a valid product key and activation within 30 days (extendable 3 times).