cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SpyBot S&D 2

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,588
Thanks: 2,888
Fixes: 238
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

SpyBot S&D 2

Anyone else 'upgraded' to this?
Installed it yesterday and have found it to be extremely slow, overcomplicated and full of stuff I have no idea what to do with as it is not intuitive in the least.
Will probably revert back to 1.6.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: SpyBot S&D 2

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,827
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎24-09-2008

Re: SpyBot S&D 2

@mav:- thanks for the heads-up, saves effort looking
to quote OJ link
Quote
In testing, it proved almost 100 percent ineffective.

I'm happy with 1.6
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,588
Thanks: 2,888
Fixes: 238
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: SpyBot S&D 2

Quote from: journeys
I'm happy with 1.6

And that is what I'm returning to Smiley
Thanks for the links OJ.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,914
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: SpyBot S&D 2

I gave up on Spybot 1.6 some years ago because I found it too slow, so I hate to think what the new version is like.  I particularly hate the way it sometimes finds it cannot remove certain entries so asks to run again on start-up but when it does this it runs the complete scan again instead of going straight to deal with those entries it found the first time round.  If you want a quick but thorough spyware scan i would recommend either SuperAntiSpyware http://www.superantispyware.com/ (free edition) or Malwarebytes http://www.malwarebytes.org/ (free version).   
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,588
Thanks: 2,888
Fixes: 238
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: SpyBot S&D 2

I've never suffered with the problems you've mentioned, RR, with version 1.6. Maybe it was fast because of the SSD.
As for running again after start-up it simply completes what it couldn't do prior to reboot without doing a full scan once more.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still