cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speedtouch 585 V6

PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Speedtouch 585 V6

Thinking of buying one of these. can someone confirm the front button can be used to turn the WLAN on and off? Or should I just avoid this router like the plague?
TIA
PT
15 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

I've actually got one of these but never tried pressing the button on the front  Roll eyes
I can't recommend this router enough, holds my line perfectly and had very few issues.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

I have been told that if you hold the button for a few secs in turns WLAN on and off. would like to know if its true if you get a minute.
TIA
PT
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

I'll try tonight if nobody else tried this first.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,439
Thanks: 334
Fixes: 4
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

I think that's similar, if not the same model as I use. I can recommend it also, as it's been fine for me .. only router I've had which I've never had to reboot to regain a connection.
I've never used the front button either, but from a look at the manual it is a wireless client association button, rather than just a means to turn the wireless off. As I never use it, I don't know how it works, but the manual will explain more. You can download it from here.
Still I am pretty sure you could just disable it within the settings anyway, so don't let that put you off!
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

Thanks, had read the manual previously but it is not clear whether you can get a temporary or permanent turn off of WLAN using the button. I would like permanent on/off facility. I know I can turn most routers off via their settings but I don't always have my PC on and its a pain to boot just to do it. The reason I would like it is that my WLAN interferes with a box I have for transmitting TV around the house, so I just want to turn it off on demand.
PT
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

Embarrassed
I forgot to check this last night Sad
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
pnf
Grafter
Posts: 266
Registered: 07-11-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

Page 87 of the User Manual for the Thomson Speedtouch 585v6 (4.6.5 Access Point Settings) refers to the following configuration information:
    Under Configuration, the following fields are available:
    •  Interface Enabled:
    Indicates whether the wireless interface is enabled or disabled.
    •  ...

I have a Speedtouch 780, the manual for that says exactly the same and I am able to switch off the wireless network on that.  It is just a case of ticking or unticking a box to enable or disable the wireless network and this can be done on the following configuration page: Home > Home Network > Interfaces > WLAN: SpeedTouch123456
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

Thanks but I want to be able to turn it on and off with a hardware switch.
PT
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

After a few attempts it does appear to turn the wireless off, you have to hold it for around 15 seconds tho.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

Quote from: PJ
Switch the router itself off? Using the mains if necessary.

don't want to lose ADSL/LAN thanks!
PT
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

Quote from: Chris
After a few attempts it does appear to turn the wireless off, you have to hold it for around 15 seconds tho.

Cheers Chris,
and it doesn't come back on again untill you hold it in for several seconds again?
PT
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

Yup, hold it down for a similar amount of time to turn it back on.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

Thanks again chris
PT
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 609
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Speedtouch 585 V6

picked up a new one off fleabay for £25 delivered. didn't think I could go wrong!
PT