cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Server 2003

Gengis
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎15-03-2008

Server 2003

Hi I'm trying to configure my new server and am uncertain of the exact ip addresses to set.
I have two NAS on the server one for local traffic with Static IP as follows
IP            192.168.1.2
SUbNet    255.255.255.0
Default Gateway 192.168.1.1 (The Router)
DNS 1 192.168.1.1 (Router)
With the router in a switch this works OK but I want to have a second NAS because I have a static IP from PlusNet
Defined as
IP 212.159.26.21
SubNet 255.255.255.255
Although I suspect that the subnet must be wrong all at 255 but I am open to advice.
As I understood it, the second LAN should be set as
IP 212.159.26.21
SubNet 255.255.255.255
Gateway 192.168.1.2 (Server) with DNS enabled
And DNS as issued by PlusNet
Problem is the NAS wont accept the above, I suspect the subnet mask.
Can anyone advise the best way to set this?
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,576
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎13-04-2007

Re: Server 2003

an IP 212.159.26.21 has a subnet of 255.255.255.252 which gives 2 host per subnet 212.159.26.21 - 212.159.26.22 or 255.255.255.0 which gives 254 hosts 212.159.26.1 - 212.159.26.254.
Is the second NAS live on the internet is that what you are trying to do so anyone can use it via the Internet?
Do you have more than 1 static ip off Plus Net?
Your default gateway may be wrong it depends were the NAS is on the network but the router is favorite failing that Plus nets gateway. If you tell use were the second NAS is and is the router running nat or not?
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Server 2003

How many static IPs do you have? This will determine both your Netmask and what is possible.
What router are you using?
Is your router set to use NAT (Network Address Translation). If so and you only have 1 static IP, the static IP is assigned to the router and you can't use in within you internal network. The access your 2nd NAS you would have to arrange separate port forwarding to its internal IP.
If you have more than 1 static IP (i.e. a block of 4 giving 2 free, one assigned to the router), you need to check if your router allows you to use both NAT and to pass through static IPS. Most home routers do not support this if using multiple IPs.
Gengis
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎15-03-2008

Re: Server 2003

Using a DLink WAG54GP2 VOIP Router
Dynamic IP 192.168.1.254
Currently NAT on but can be disabled
Also RIP currently disabled
Server 2003 has two network cards
For internal use Dynamic
IP 192.168.1.1
SUb 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.1.254
Preffered DNS 192.168.1.254
When connected the router status displays
IP address 212.159.26.21
Subnet 255.255.255.255
Gateway 195.166.128.64
DNS1 212.159.6.9
DNS2 212.159.6.10
these settings seem to remain unchanged over time and router resetting.
And the staic IP assigned by Plus Net is
IP address 212.159.26.21
Subnet 255.255.255.255

What I would like to do is configure the Router to act as DNS using the second NIC but I'm not sure what settings to define for the NIC
I have recieved the following from PlusNet Support
"In order to use the static IP addresses, you should set your router/server/device which keeps a connection to us to use a Dynamic IP address. We will then simply assign you the same IP address each time you connect."
Does this mean the current 192.168.1.254 should be changed, and if so to what, the static IP 212.159.26.21?
What then should the config be for the NIC2
grimme
Grafter
Posts: 241
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Server 2003

This site has information and diagrams that show differing setups for SBS servers, hope you find some of it useful.

http://www.smallbizserver.net/Articles/tabid/266/articleType/CategoryView/categoryId/16/Network-conf...
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,576
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎13-04-2007

Re: Server 2003

Your ip 212.159.26.21 is the ip of the router and you will get this every tiime. Your ip of the server stay thee same as thats on the local network. The sever has its own dns setup for the local network iit can be setup to give full dns buts there iis no point and there are dangers in doing that not to mention overheads.
Going back to your question about NAS both must be set to be in the ip range of your network. Or if you put it on the other nic that could be its own range but there isnt a lot of point as the default gateway would be the server for that.
This means you need a gateway for the internet and one for the server which complicates setup. Just because you have 2 nics you dont have to use them.