cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scheduling Downloads?

sisko
Dabbler

Scheduling Downloads?

Please bear with me - I'm a newbie, female, almost blonde, an avid Ebay seller and tend to have the odd senior moment.  So - you can determine from that whether you want to proceed with this cry from the heart - or not  Huh   (Might as well be honest!)
Anyway, yesterday I had a message to say that I had exceeded my 20 Gb allowance - in my first  two weeks?  Cry     Apparently it was because I had downloaded a film which took about 70% of my allowance.  I had unlimited d/l with my previous ISP - Pipex - but migrated because half the day I had no connection, being constantly interrupted.  So - let's be honest, I forgot.
So, duly paid up for a further bit of allowance and hope it lasts the month.  For my downloads I use UseNet and NGB Matrix and my operating system is Windows XP.   The very helpful guy told me he thought I could schedule downloads through these sites as he uses them, but I can't see this anywhere.  He also mentioned Windows Task Scheduler but I can't find that on Windows Help either.  (He wasn't allowed to advise me on either of these methods but he told me he d/ls a movie every other night)
Now, on the odd occasion I am here after midnight, but otherwise any ideas on how I could schedule  the downloads?  OK - stop them, I know.  But obviously I don't want to do that.
Any useful advice would be greatly appreciated - thank you.

Moderators note by James_H : Changed title from all caps. : link:rules
3 REPLIES 3
James
Grafter

Re: SCHEDULING DOWNLOADS?

Hiya,
Me and Bob use Newsbin Pro, which does allow you to schedule Usenet downloads.  We reckon that Newsleecher allows you to do the same thing.
I don't believe that either are free though, but you get a lifetime license for a nominal fee.  I think it's something in the region of £10.
Must have been a big film!
sisko
Dabbler

Re: SCHEDULING DOWNLOADS?