Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SSH over WAN

ashgeo
Grafter

SSH over WAN

Little bit of advice sought:
I am relatively new to Linux and have been messing around for some time with a RaspberryPi and an old Laptop on Mint.
I would like to be able to SSH into my pi from the WAN when I am out and about but I have concerns about opening security vulnerabilities. I have done this once by forwarding a port on my router to the Pi on the LAN (which I have now closed) and it all worked fine 🙂 I have read that the most secure way of doing this is with either a VPN or a 'Tunnel', both of which seem fairly complex to set up to me (as I don't entirely understand all the steps of the process but get what the end result is).
So my question really is: How secure is SSH without a VPN or Tunnel? Without either of the former what are the potential consequences of forwarding an open a port on the router to my Pi (port 22)? There is no data or anything that I am worried about being compromised on the Pi.
Many thanks in advance for any advice/help
27 REPLIES 27
Waldo
Grafter

Re: SSH over WAN

The ssh daemon is configurable; for your case I'd suggest you change the default port 22 to something else and use public / private key authentication instead of password login.
Anonymous
Not applicable

I agree with Waldo and thankfully SSH normally lives up to its name provided you are running the latest version and as I understand it there are, at the moment, no known issues with the current version. OpenSSH 7.1p1, OpenSSL 1.0.2d
However, having an open port, even if that port is not the default as suggested will have the effect of inviting unwanted callers. Ideally if you know the IP addresses of the locations you are wanting to access your Pi from then you can always restrict access by setting this rule in your firewall. Also ensure you have a proper password made of at least 10 characters, numbers and symbols.