cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

core2lee
Grafter

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

I've not missed any parts in my original guide, at least I don't think so anyway lol Huh

I basically wrote that guide just listing the steps I took the first time I did it, and have followed it many times since without any issues. 

tan159
Dabbler

I am new to WRTing but not linux. However I am getting confused in the last 3 instructions of the flashing. Sorry for being a bit thick.

In this thread first post, after the backup of caldata and then unlocking the bootloader, it says then:-

A)  copy the UIMAGE-INITRAMFS.TAR file to the root directory of the flash drive.

Then plug flashdrive back into the hh5.

B) copy the UIMAGE-INITRAMFS.TAR to /tmp

C) run the file UBIFS-SYSUPGRADE.TAR file

Is this correct because where did the UBIFS-SYSUPGRADE.TAR come from on the flash drive? I see in BIL888 post in message 46 (page4) of this thread that step B should actually be copy the UBIFS-SYSUPGRADE.TAR file which makes more sense. However what happens to the UIMAGE-INITRAMFS.TAR file in step A?

bill888
Champion
Fixes: 38

The references to UIMAGE-INITRAMFS.TAR in A) and B) are indeed typo errors.  There is no such file ending with '.TAR'.

It should of course be the openwrt ubifs-sysupgrade.tar (or newer LEDE project  .bin) file you copy to USB flash drive, to transfer to the /tmp folder.

Plusnet doesn't permit old posts to be re-edited (such as to correct any errors).

http://openwrt.ebilan.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=145

ex-Plusnet (ADSL, FTTC) 2008-2023. now BT (FTTP) 2023-
alag20
Grafter

Removed as already replied by Bill above.

tan159
Dabbler

Thanks. Funny how nobody mentioned it before.