cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Running 32 bit software on 64 bit W7 Professional?

Community Veteran
Posts: 18,025
Thanks: 1,691
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Running 32 bit software on 64 bit W7 Professional?

A friend of mine in the USA is trying to run a 32 bit software on 64 bit W7 Professional.... it loads up ok... but needs to access the COMPORT via a USB converter... and it cannot find the COMPORT number... he has been given instructions as to how to find it on Control Panel > Device manager >  but it doesn`t show...
I have suggested he tries to use a " Compatible Mode"... ( like "run this prog in compatible mode with XP "... ) or something, but I don`t know how to suggest he does that in W7 Professional 64 bit... or even if it can be done...
The program is NOT a windows/microsoft program  it is CWCOM from MRX software.... ( Morse over the internet )..  http://www.mrx.com.au/d_cwcom.htm
Any advice or instructions would be appreciated, please.
6 REPLIES
kmilburn
Grafter
Posts: 905
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Running 32 bit software on 64 bit W7 Professional?

Running 32 bit software on a 64 bit system usually works, however device drivers must be 64 bit.
The bit causing the problem will be the USB/COM driver,  they'll need to obtain a 64 bit version of that.
Assuming that's available, it'll create the COM port that the CWCom software requires.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Running 32 bit software on 64 bit W7 Professional?

I suspect the problem relates to the USB convertor software and driver
Note I have a COM/USB convertor running on my  Win 7 64 bit system and it uses or need a 64bit driver -see picture
A word of warning - I allowed Windows to update the driver and that stopped it all working so I had to roll it back
However to run the program in compatibility mode right click on the shortcut and select properties  then compatibility
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,341
Thanks: 1,893
Fixes: 174
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Running 32 bit software on 64 bit W7 Professional?

I have two devices which use virtual com ports one of which didn't work too well until I downloaded and installed this virtual Com Port software http://www.silabs.com/products/mcu/pages/usbtouartbridgevcpdrivers.aspx
You can chose from a 32 bit or 64 bit installation.
Incidentally the device that has always worked fine uses the same software as in the link.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)

Community Veteran
Posts: 18,025
Thanks: 1,691
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Running 32 bit software on 64 bit W7 Professional?

WOW !... Thanks guys... I will send him the linky to this thread, and he can probably sort himself out from that....
Much Appreciated... Thanks...
Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,225
Thanks: 494
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Running 32 bit software on 64 bit W7 Professional?

Quote from: Oldjim
Note I have a COM/USB convertor running on my  Win 7 64 bit system and it doesn't use or need a 64bit driver -see picture

C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\ser2pl64.sys - that is the 64bit driver.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Running 32 bit software on 64 bit W7 Professional?

Oh dear - wrong again - will correct  Embarrassed