cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router Channel Change

nadger
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: 13-04-2007

Router Channel Change

After a couple of years with no problems connecting to my wireless router I suddenly started to get disconnects and speed varying between 1.0Mbps and 54.0Mbps. Angry
I'm using ST 576 and pcmcia D-Link G650.
I was arranging to visit a friend, who used to be network director of Pipex, and mentioned problem to him.
He suggested interference or possibly someone running a more powerful router nearby - maybe new neighbour.
He said to manually change router channels - my Speedtouch was set to Ch 6 automatically so manually changed it to Ch 12. No more disconnects and a steady 54.0 Mbps. Smiley

7 REPLIES
198kHz
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 3,487
Thanks: 421
Fixes: 11
Registered: 30-07-2008

Re: Router Channel Change

That's good to hear. I'm visiting a friend tomorrow with the same problem - hopefully your post is a good omen.  Smiley
Remember you are unique - just like everyone else
nadger
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: 13-04-2007

Re: Router Channel Change

Certainly worth trying as my wireless connection has been rock solid at 54.0Mbps since the change.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Router Channel Change

It's a good idea to try to spread out the channels you try first, so go for 1, 6 then 13 and work through the intermediate ones after.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
198kHz
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 3,487
Thanks: 421
Fixes: 11
Registered: 30-07-2008

Re: Router Channel Change

Just read that now I've got back  Roll eyes
Started sequentially from Ch 1. The clear winner was Ch 11.
Remember you are unique - just like everyone else
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,778
Thanks: 859
Fixes: 55
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Router Channel Change

Another method of finding a good channel is to use Netstumbler or Kismet to scan for networks if your wireless card supports it. That will give a list of networks, their channels and strength. From that you can then pick which channel, for your own network, is likely to be least affected by the other networks. Bearing in mind of course that only channels 1,6,11 are completely non-overlapping!.
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Router Channel Change

Quote from: Chris
It's a good idea to try to spread out the channels you try first, so go for 1, 6 then 13 and work through the intermediate ones after.

bear in mind that some PC of american heritage only go up to channel 12
nadger
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: 13-04-2007

Re: Router Channel Change

Wireless connection has run faultlessly since changing from channel that I'd used for two years.
I've installed NetStumbler and can't see any other local networks that use Channel 6 so still don't know what was causing interference.