cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

cm
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2013

Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

I'm going to replace the engineer installed ethernet cable that connects my fibre Openreach modem to the Plusnet router.
Is there any particular type of ethernet cable I need to look out for? For example, will this CAT5e cable be ok? http://www.c2g.com/uk/product/83266
Thanks in advance
CM
11 REPLIES
shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 977
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

Why are you replacing it?
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,214
Thanks: 2,138
Fixes: 341
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

If it's long enough there shouldn't be any need to replace it, it's plenty capable.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

cm
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2013

Re: Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

I need a longer cable because i'm relocating the router elsewhere in my home.
Cheers,
CM
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,214
Thanks: 2,138
Fixes: 341
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

Cat5e will be fine.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 977
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

Really unsure why the question is being asked as the link says
"Snagless design for network adapters, hubs, switches, routers, DSL/cable modems, patch panels and other high performance networking applications.
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

cm
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2013

Re: Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

Not sure what your problem is; it was a very simple question i asked: because of the fact that it's connected to the openreach fibre modem and it was the default cable that was plugged in by the openreach contractor, it was prudent on my part - as a non IT techy - to enquire about the suitability of the replacment cable i had in mind rather than rely solely on the wording of the cable manufacturer, which didn't specifically mention fibre modem speeds etc.
I certainly didn't expect an arrogant interogation and sweeping judgement in response to it.
Rest assured i won't be coming back here to ask another; i will go straight for Plusnet support next time - i doubt they would offer the same level of arrogance/judgement.
Many thanks to pwatson and dvorak who answered nonetheless.
Cheers
CM
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

Quote from: shalom2010
Really unsure why the question is being asked as the link says
"Snagless design for network adapters, hubs, switches, routers, DSL/cable modems, patch panels and other high performance networking applications.

So the cable is OK for the WAN port of a DSL router?
http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/hoist_by_one's_own_petard Smiley
Heloman
Grafter
Posts: 519
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

Quote from: cm
I certainly didn't expect an arrogant interogation and sweeping judgement in response to it.

Totally agree with that comment, cm.
I'm also a non-techy, and I would have been doubtful about being recommended a "DSL/cable modem" when I was looking for a connection to a Fibre modem.
I tend to use usenet for my queries - I've found people are generally more friendly/helpful than in forums.  Sad
shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 977
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

@cm I apologise if my comment sounded rude. It was not meant to be.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎20-10-2012

Re: Replacing the ethernet cable between the openreach modem and plusnet router

Plenty of good cheap cat5e cables available from your local ToolStation!
Geoff,
York.