cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replacing Netgear DG824GT

ah
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 1
Registered: 15-07-2008

Replacing Netgear DG824GT

This router works very well.  I need to buy another one, similar, to use in another location and I guess that there are new models out now. Which one would you advise me to buy, please

8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Replacing Netgear DG824GT

the DG824GT is quite old, and will have been superseded many times over.
however, i'm sure you could pick up a DG824GT very cheaply on ebay if you want to stick with what you know.

 

without knowing what your specific requirements are it's impossible to even hazard a guess at to what to recommend.

ah
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 1
Registered: 15-07-2008

Re: Replacing Netgear DG824GT

I don't want to stick with what I know.  My requirements are that I need something similar but more up to date

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Replacing Netgear DG824GT

based on the vague response, all i can say then it get the current netgear equivalent of the DG824GT
ah
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 1
Registered: 15-07-2008

Re: Replacing Netgear DG824GT

Yes, but how can I know which is the current equivalent of the GD824T, please?   I'd like to be more precise but I just don't know what precisely you need.  I need a WiFi router as fast as possible

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Replacing Netgear DG824GT

how many ethernet ports do you need? and what speed?
what spec of WIFI do you need?
is it for ADSL or FTTC?
do you need lots of advanced settings?
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,600
Thanks: 699
Fixes: 67
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Replacing Netgear DG824GT

@ah

Go across to kitz's website forum, I'm sure you will find someone there with indepth knowledge yo to help you http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/board,5.0.html

ah
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 1
Registered: 15-07-2008

Re: Replacing Netgear DG824GT

I don't need many ethernet ports since I connect on WiFi. Most of the routers have 4 and that's fine with me, just to connect with a cable in case I have WiFi problems.
About the speed I presently have 9.3Mb/s upload and 0.99Mb/s download. It is very low and I don't know if this is due to my location (central London - Chelsea) or my Plusnet subscription (plusnet unlimited).
It is for ADSL
No I don't need lots of advanced settings.

The whole story is that I want to move this router to the Alps to replace an old Netgear 824M that needs rebooting very often but I don't know if this is due to the router itself or to the service provided.  I'll find out when I change router.

ah
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 1
Registered: 15-07-2008

Re: Replacing Netgear DG824GT

Thank you SpendLessTime for the link.