cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Remote Access Software/Solution Optioms

ageinghippy
Dabbler

Remote Access Software/Solution Optioms

Hi, I often get calls from a freind who lives in Devon (I live in Cumbria) for some basic IT support (though I'm no expert).
It would be realy useful if I could login to her PC and carry out some basic fixes and if possible transfer files ideally without her having to do anything. ALthough she uaes PC's at work she freaks if she has to come out of windows media center on the htpc I built her and on to her desktop.
If absolutley needed I could install some software on my next trip own in a cpl months.  But again if there's a way to do that remotely it would b good
Both using Win 7 premium and both on Plusnet BB
7 REPLIES 7
CX
Grafter

Re: Remote Access Software/Solution Optioms

TeamViewer works well for me.
Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

I have also used Teamviewer extensively with great success....and it's free http://www.teamviewer.com/en/index.aspx
Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
ageinghippy
Dabbler

Looked at site seems aimed a business users and a tad expesive for what I want to do?
Trevor
Mav
Fixes: 514

I successfully use LogMeIn to remotely control 5 other PCs including my wife's brother's in Ukraine in Russian  Cheesy
The free account does everthing I require apart from transferring files. For that I often just use a file-sharing account like Rapidshare. If the file is small enough I ftp to my plusNet webspace.
All you need to do is get the person to download and run a small file from a link from LogMeIn and you're ready to go.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

CX
Grafter