cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reinstall win 10

idonno
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 742
Thanks: 241
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎22-10-2015

Re: Reinstall win 10

Is it a modular type PSU? Got a model number?

 

Ever helpful. Grin Sure, I’d love to help you out. Now which way did you come in?
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,120
Thanks: 13
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Reinstall win 10

No it's not modular. It's a corsair vs450 remanufactured
VileReynard
Champion
Posts: 11,840
Thanks: 454
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Reinstall win 10

Assuming the PSU and major bits are OK, do the individual connectors such as SATA power etc look OK?

Also no possible shorts or overloaded 4 pin Molex style connectors?

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

daveplus
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 372
Thanks: 65
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-08-2010

Re: Reinstall win 10

@penfold

I am curious as to why you didn't buy a new PSU. The VS450 is just £35 on Amazon.

Dave

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,120
Thanks: 13
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Reinstall win 10

The refurb unit was a good price, and from a reputable manufacturer. No matter now. I have RTM the unit and bought new, an EVGA unit for a good price, on offer at scan.
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,927
Thanks: 143
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Reinstall win 10


@penfold wrote:
The refurb unit was a good price, and from a reputable manufacturer.

In the context of computer equipment, "refurbished" means second hand and briefly checked to see if it still works.  If your PSU took 30 seconds to fail then that may be too long to be caught by the check.

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,120
Thanks: 13
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Reinstall win 10

Yeah. Well learn by experience, however think I may have located the issue, a schoolboy error....... I completely dismantled the system, and noted that 1 motherboard standoff was in the wrong position. When I built it up, I noted 1 screw hole not used, but assumed it was spare, as I didn't see a standoff for it. Very annoyed with myself, as I have built plenty of systems in my time. Dosnt explain why psu was cutting out my sons though.... Anyhow removed and put this standoff on correct position. No obvious damage by sight to mobo, but will find out.....
DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Reinstall win 10

Dosnt explain why psu was cutting out my sons though.

I have to agree. Though I'd of thought the PSU would have short circuit protection, so even if the new MOBO was shorting it out, I'd expect it to have worked in your sons. If it doesn't have short circuit protection then it's possible a capacitor or two (or other electrickery) might not have liked it.

Got to admire your honesty, many wouldn't have 'fessed up'.

(and yes, I'd let on if I'd done the same)

VileReynard
Champion
Posts: 11,840
Thanks: 454
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Reinstall win 10

Maybe the BIOS initiated the shutdown, causing the PSU to switch off?

Some protection mechanism must have been invoked, somewhere...

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,120
Thanks: 13
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Reinstall win 10

We will see. Rebuilding it all tomorrow so fingers crossed.....
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,120
Thanks: 13
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Reinstall win 10

Rebuilt and all OK. Stays on.... Now to reinstall 10😕😕
DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Reinstall win 10

As we thought earlier then, as it didn't work in both PC's (and now you've sorted the MOBO), the new PSU is working, so hows the install of W10 going/gone?

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,120
Thanks: 13
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Reinstall win 10

Not getting anywhere it refuses to boot from the dvd drive. The drive just flashes. Tried a different drive still the same. Managed to boot the old install ftom the hdd, and the files are readable but you can't do a clean install from within 10 I don't think . Making a USB boot disk now.
DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Reinstall win 10

From the bios screen, have you altered the boot order?

(as you're making a bootable USB, make sure you open the files and then move them to USB, if you put the main file on only, it won't (IIRC) boot from it until you open that file and then put that content (various files) on it)

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,120
Thanks: 13
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Reinstall win 10

It's installed..... Fiddled in bios, and followed instructions on Internet, for some cpu settings that were not enabled. Bears me why it wouldn't boot, but it did eventually and installed 10 v1809 without a hitch, all drivers installed just fine. Just need to connect to Internet now, do updates etc, install the apps he wants and reinstate his files.
What a faff this has been. Never had so much trouble with building a pc.