cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recommendations for an external hard drive set up

Santiago
Grafter

Recommendations for an external hard drive set up

I have been advised to buy an external hard drive to maintain a back  up for my work Dell laptop.
I have no experience of these and was hoping to get some advice as to the best way to do this and also get some recommendations for the kit required.
Thanks in advance for any suggestions
11 REPLIES 11
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: Recommendations for an external hard drive set up

You will need a external hard drive case to put your hard drive in to, make sure that the case takes for example IDE if that is what your hard drive connects with, then if your hard drive has been formatted already just connect the USB cable to your computer, and you will get an extra drive come up say  drive ":E"
Hope that helps
Santiago
Grafter

Thank you, I don't have a spare hard drive to use in a case. As I understand it I need a complete external drive that I can use with Dell Back up.
David_W
Rising Star

Few questions, how much space will you require?  if it's something small like 20Gb then just get a 32Gb pen drive.  Second, if you need more than 20Gb (say 32Gb+) you're better of getting an external drive, but what interface does your Dell use?  USB or eSata?  If it's USB is it USB 2 or 3 (major difference in speed between 2 and 3).  If it's a USB 3 get an external USB 3.0 drive (it's faster than eSata) but if it's USB 2.0 and you have eSata, may as well get an eSata drive.
My first choice would be a Pen Drive, they are small enough to fit on a keyring and if you accidently drop it, it's not toast.  2nd choice would be a standard USB 3.0 (it's backward compatible) as it's sort of future proof should you upgrade later to a USB 3.0 capable system.  I use a 1Tb Segate drive, my second one, the first one I accidently dropped when I kicked the cable which in turn killed the hard drive inside.