cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Really in the dark about this.

ForeverArsenal
Grafter
Posts: 179
Registered: 30-07-2007

Really in the dark about this.

Hi.
With plusnet for years connected via netgear dg834 and ethernet cable.
to desktop computer upstairs.
This above computer is wireless capable but never looked into it.
Is 3 years old.
Wife now getting idea about wanting laptop to research family tree downstairs Cry
Would be hard to run long ethernet cable downstairs.
Don't know anything about going wireless so may be back here for loads of help Grin
So first things first,as far as I know wireless works @  2.4 GHz  Huh
I have cctv camera's x2  that work on  2.4 GHz.So before going any further with
questions would this be a problem please re interference.
Thanks.
Baz.

5 REPLIES
ForeverArsenal
Grafter
Posts: 179
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Really in the dark about this.

I can now tell you tell you they do. Sad
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,316
Thanks: 1,663
Fixes: 183
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Really in the dark about this.

You could try A or N which work on 5Ghz for your wireless..

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Really in the dark about this.

An alternative to wireless would be homeplug which works over the electricity ring main. You plug one in upstairs and connect it to the router. You plug a second unit in anywhere else in the house and connect the laptop to it using an ethernet cable.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Denzil
Grafter
Posts: 1,733
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Really in the dark about this.

Before you go and buy any other kit, just try changing the wireless channels on the router. Shifting to a channel with a slightly different frequency may avoid the interference.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Really in the dark about this.

Quote from: ForeverArsenal
connected via netgear dg834

A bit difficult to try to change the wireless channel on that router. Wink
The point is he doesn't want to splash out before he knows if it will work!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)