cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: BT speedtester [Not] hacked ? JVM cache ?

newthing
Grafter
Posts: 146
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: BT speedtester [Not] hacked ? JVM cache ?

Aaargh,   Roll eyes

I started to see ODD results from Speedtester.bt.com
from following a link google gave me
should this sort of thing happen
(an altered link in google results?)
or did something else occur?
all suggestions gratefully received..
I'm still seeing different results with Firefox 3.6, IE8, and chrome
for the same address
speedtester.BT.com
have cleared out caches, re-installed Java, tried IE 64bit
move along now now nothing to see,  
just an old script left I tripped over in search engine results,
It seems like I clicked a link I  found with g**gle
somehow gargle had indexed/spidered an altered link,
(is this likely or even  possible?).
I don't like to think something is altering my address bar.
Any suggestions.
Now the browser IE8 throws an error trying to open the speedtester link, see prev msg. post.
Toby
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: BT speedtester hacked ?

No problem - to try another route try this link to the speedtester
http://217.35.209.142/ and this one http://speedtester.bt.com/
newthing
Grafter
Posts: 146
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: BT speedtester hacked ?

Both give an error:
tried clearing my browser cache
seems some rubbish is affecting my connection to speedtester
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: BT speedtester hacked ?

Can you check your hosts file
Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,817
Thanks: 315
Registered: 13-07-2009

Re: BT speedtester hacked ?

Is this for real? I thought this was a prank? If not should this not be moved to a more appropriate section where the OP may get more help? Cheesy
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: BT speedtester not hacked ? something iin my (browser?) cache

Quote from: Oldjim
Can you check your hosts file

A problem in the hosts file would not affect accessing it using http://217.35.209.142/
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
newthing
Grafter
Posts: 146
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: BT speedtester hacked ?

Hosts file content is O.K.
I'm now reaching the speedtester by both IP addr and URL route, Jim.
Thank-you for help and advice
the problem has cleared up I hope
after removing Java installations
including an odd one: of Java 5 (fairly old), don't know what it was there for.
Possibly aquired the malware that controlled the msgs by clicking a link turned up in google,
some malware affected page.
I've rolled back the windows install 24hrs too,
seems to have sorted things for now.
Embarrassed