cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems opening Port 80 UDP

undyinguk22
Newbie
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Registered: 13-05-2016

Problems opening Port 80 UDP

So ive recently recieved a new plusnet router 2704N. because the girl on customer services insisted it was so much easier to port forward than any previous router, which I now know is incorrect, because ive never had problems like this.

 

So for one of my games port forwarding I need to open 80 UDP, Ive seen threads about this but they dont answer my question.

 

For example its been suggested that a predefined PF is using port 80, which there is its a Web Server that uses 80 TCP not UDP and it wont let me change the preset to neither 80 UDP or UDP/TCP.

 

I even set up a new PF opening port 79-81, Port 79 is open, port 81 is open, but port 80 UDP is still closed.

 

I also read somewhere that all out going traffic is allowed/not restricted, so quite why a 80 TCP is locked in there is completly beyond me,

 

Please I need help to unlock 80 UDP cause im unable to find the information on my own.

 

Regards

 

UD

8 REPLIES
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,698
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

it would be helpful to know which game it is

just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,349
Thanks: 1,684
Fixes: 192
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

port 80 may be being used for remote management.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

undyinguk22
Newbie
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Registered: 13-05-2016

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

Its for BF4, the first 2 ports required are 80 & 443, Now in the port forwarding 443 UDP is opened using a pre set protocol called web server or something like that, and is open, but when and 80 TCP is being used by a protocol called (IIRC) Secure web server. except as its a TCP its useless to me as I need to open 80 UDP, sand the secure web server wont allow me to change the 80 TCP to either UDP or UDP/TCP. 

 

No matter what I do when I test the 80 UDP it is never open.  I didnt have this problem with my old thomson router so cannot understand why this sagecom piece of garbage is not letting me.

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,493
Thanks: 652
Fixes: 58
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

Does the Plusnet router allow you to set the protocol to "any" ?

 

Just that the BT Home Hub 5 (which is internally the same as the Plusnet Hub One") has these instructions http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/BT/Home_Hub_5/Battlefield_4_-_PlayStation_4.h...

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,349
Thanks: 1,684
Fixes: 192
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

It's not a hub one..

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,493
Thanks: 652
Fixes: 58
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,698
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

have you tried following this guide https://community.plus.net/t5/Gaming/Plusnet-Routers-and-Port-Forwarding/td-p/1307971 ?

 

 

just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,493
Thanks: 652
Fixes: 58
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

Some thing to try

 

  1. Add the IP of the games machine to the preset Web Server rule
  2. Apply the changes
  3. Create a new rule for UDP on port 80 to the games machine IP
  4. If 3 fails, try to amend the preset web server rule to be both protocols
  5. If 3 or 4 works, apply the changes.