cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems opening Port 80 UDP

undyinguk22
Newbie
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎13-05-2016

Problems opening Port 80 UDP

So ive recently recieved a new plusnet router 2704N. because the girl on customer services insisted it was so much easier to port forward than any previous router, which I now know is incorrect, because ive never had problems like this.

 

So for one of my games port forwarding I need to open 80 UDP, Ive seen threads about this but they dont answer my question.

 

For example its been suggested that a predefined PF is using port 80, which there is its a Web Server that uses 80 TCP not UDP and it wont let me change the preset to neither 80 UDP or UDP/TCP.

 

I even set up a new PF opening port 79-81, Port 79 is open, port 81 is open, but port 80 UDP is still closed.

 

I also read somewhere that all out going traffic is allowed/not restricted, so quite why a 80 TCP is locked in there is completly beyond me,

 

Please I need help to unlock 80 UDP cause im unable to find the information on my own.

 

Regards

 

UD

8 REPLIES 8
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,756
Thanks: 156
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎11-02-2013

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

it would be helpful to know which game it is

just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,385
Thanks: 6,221
Fixes: 1,451
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

port 80 may be being used for remote management.

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
undyinguk22
Newbie
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎13-05-2016

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

Its for BF4, the first 2 ports required are 80 & 443, Now in the port forwarding 443 UDP is opened using a pre set protocol called web server or something like that, and is open, but when and 80 TCP is being used by a protocol called (IIRC) Secure web server. except as its a TCP its useless to me as I need to open 80 UDP, sand the secure web server wont allow me to change the 80 TCP to either UDP or UDP/TCP. 

 

No matter what I do when I test the 80 UDP it is never open.  I didnt have this problem with my old thomson router so cannot understand why this sagecom piece of garbage is not letting me.

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,920
Thanks: 892
Fixes: 84
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

Does the Plusnet router allow you to set the protocol to "any" ?

 

Just that the BT Home Hub 5 (which is internally the same as the Plusnet Hub One") has these instructions http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/BT/Home_Hub_5/Battlefield_4_-_PlayStation_4.h...

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,385
Thanks: 6,221
Fixes: 1,451
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

It's not a hub one..
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,920
Thanks: 892
Fixes: 84
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,756
Thanks: 156
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎11-02-2013

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

have you tried following this guide https://community.plus.net/t5/Gaming/Plusnet-Routers-and-Port-Forwarding/td-p/1307971 ?

 

 

just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,920
Thanks: 892
Fixes: 84
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Problems opening Port 80 UDP

Some thing to try

 

  1. Add the IP of the games machine to the preset Web Server rule
  2. Apply the changes
  3. Create a new rule for UDP on port 80 to the games machine IP
  4. If 3 fails, try to amend the preset web server rule to be both protocols
  5. If 3 or 4 works, apply the changes.