cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Port 5600 closed

deeross1974
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-10-2016

Port 5600 closed

Hi I need port 5600 open for my CCTV

ive tried everything to open it but my router will just not allow it 

can anyone help me 

18 REPLIES
deeross1974
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-10-2016

Re: Port 5600 closed

sorry port 56000

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,227
Thanks: 2,145
Fixes: 341
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Port 5600 closed

can you give some useful info such as make / model of your router and what steps you have already tried?

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

deeross1974
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-10-2016

Re: Port 5600 closed

Hi my router is as follows 

1 - Product name: Plusnet Router
2 - Serial number: N7151791M003813 
3 - Firmware version: 7.275.2_F2704N_Plusnet
4 - Board version: F@ST2704N

 

Blocked loads of ports then tested them on port checker they are still saying closed 

deeross1974
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-10-2016

Re: Port 5600 closed

only available port is 80

alanf
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-10-2007

Re: Port 5600 closed

Anything to do with Plusnet Broadband Firewall settings?

deeross1974
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-10-2016

Re: Port 5600 closed

Hi paul no ive unblocked everything temporarily even on the router turned off fire walls just to try to get this port open 

alanf
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-10-2007

Re: Port 5600 closed

Paul?

deeross1974
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-10-2016

Re: Port 5600 closed

Alan? lol

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Port 5600 closed

Alan!, Alan!, Alan! ... Steve!, Steve!, Steve!  Grin 

 

To eliminate the possibility that perhaps either the Plusnet network, or Plusnet "Broadband Firewall" was inadvertently blocking these ports,  I've just run the GRC "ShieldsUP!" remote port scan, and I can confirm that my router firewall captured both TCP ports 5600 and 56000 being probed, with the Plusnet "Broadband Firewall" set to "Low".

 

So it looks like you need a Plusnet router expert, to guide you on how to configure port forwards. Cry

 

Good luck with that !  Undecided

deeross1974
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-10-2016

Re: Port 5600 closed

this dont look good see attached 

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Port 5600 closed

Do you want to PM me your IP address (http://www.whatsmyip.org/), and I will tell you what appears on your TCP port 80 ?

deeross1974
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-10-2016

Re: Port 5600 closed

Would this have something to do with the Ethernet Extender am running through?

 

deeross1974
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎13-10-2016

Re: Port 5600 closed

gonna buy a new router as this garbage router cant do nothing

plus i cant even assign a ip address to a device

can anyone suggest a decent router that will work with plusnet modem?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Port 5600 closed

No, it's not going to be the "Ethernet Extender"

 

The ShieldsUP! report is indicating that TCP port 80 (i.e. the http web interface) of your network is exposed and responding to unsolicited requests from ANYONE on the internet.

 

It is most likely displaying the web login screen of your router (where you type your username and password to get to it's settings).  Alternatively if you have a port forward already set up, then the web interface of the device (to which the port is forwarded) will be accessible to anyone on the internet.

 

Either way, having port-80 respond like that, means that anyone performing a remote port probe looking for networks to access, will know that you are there and responding.