cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet routing my search traffic?

intravone
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-08-2007

Plusnet routing my search traffic?

I found this strange, looks like Plusnet is my google searchs through their IP? (see image attached)
When I clear my browser cache it reverts to google IP, after a few searchs, google.co.uk reverts to a Plusnet IP?
Is Plusnet , checking what I search on google?  Shocked
4 REPLIES 4
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,505
Thanks: 6,298
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Plusnet routing my search traffic?

What are you using to get that information?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
intravone
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-08-2007

Re: Plusnet routing my search traffic?

The tool is called Flagfox and it is an addon for firefox.
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Plusnet routing my search traffic?

Probably going through a Google cache, this is so that Google content (youtube etc) is closer to the subscribers and therefore cuts down peering costs.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,034
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Plusnet routing my search traffic?

I can't duplicate it but then again I am not using Plusnet's DNS servers