cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Protect - worth installing?

wilf21

Plusnet Protect - worth installing?

Hi,
I currently use Kaspersky Internet Security 2012 on my main laptop PC, and the free products Microsoft Security Essentials on another laptop and Panda Cloud Antivirus on a netbook.  I've never used McAfee before but am thinking of installing Plusnet Protect across the machines instead of what I've currently got.  Any views on whether I should install Plusnet Protect - have people found it to be good/bad/indifferent?
Your views would be very welcome.  TIA.
Wilf
7 REPLIES 7
w23
Pro
Fixes: 4

Re: Plusnet Protect - worth installing?

I personally found it very 'mixed'.  Works great on a decent desktop system (W7 64 bit 1st Generation Core i7), really slows down my netbook (Win XP, Intel Atom) and on my main laptop (W7 32bit, Core 2duo) I had to reinstall several times as it would stop updating or keep switching off 'Autoprotect' - of course this could be due to other issues.
I find MSE absolutely fine on the netbook.
If you have 'Extra' and the PN Protect is therefore free then I'd say give it a go (but probably not on a netbook).
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
wilf21

THanks.  Just tried to download (via Firefox 12.0.  I get this message:
"Browser Requirements
Please note that Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0 (or higher) or Firefox 1.5 (or higher) or Chrome is required to purchase and install McAfee products.
To continue, please return to the previous page using Internet Explorer or Firefox or Chrome.
"
If it can't tell I'm using a version of FF rather higher than 1.5 it doesn't give me a great deal of confidence.  This is the browser I normally use.  What does it want me to do????
wilf21