cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Assist says it Doesn't Support My IE Browser

Liz42
Dabbler

Plusnet Assist says it Doesn't Support My IE Browser

I am new to PlusNet, though already regretting it!! 
I am having problems with connection but only in the evenings.  I have been given complicated instructions to test my router and filters though what use is this if broadband is up and running and the problems are only intermittent. 
Has anyone else had these problems and what did they do?
I tried to access PlusNet Assist, which I downloaded, but keep getting the message ' PlusNet Assist does not support this browser' despite the fact that I have Internet Explorer 11 installed and no other browser.  PlusNet Assist informs that it supports IE 6 and upwards. 
I am hoping someone out there can give me some advice as I cannot bear another 60 minute+ wait to speak to someone at PlusNet. Angry
18 REPLIES 18
destin8
Dabbler

Re: Plusnet Assist says it Doesn't Support My IE Browser

Have you considered downloading and installing another browser? They're free, and you could delete it again afterwards if it doesn't work. You could try Firefox @ www.firefox.com and see if the assistant works with that.
Liz42
Dabbler

Thanks for reply destin8  however my husband and I are in our seventies and not very technically inclined - we can find our way round IE so don't want to change. 
When you click on PlusNet Assist it states that it supports IE 6 and upwards so can't understand why it doesn't like ours!
destin8
Dabbler

Internet Explorer 11 is very new -- I would guess that Plusnet haven't fully tested it yet. I can't remember the date it came out, but I'm sure it was only in the past two months. I don't use Internet Explorer so I'm not sure if there's a way for it to pretend to be an earlier version than it is. Hopefully someone who can help you more will be along shortly!
ollyk

I appear to have Plusnet assist working on IE11. So unless you are