cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Assist/IE9

bugbod
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 15-09-2012

Plusnet Assist/IE9

Is there a way to stop Plusnet Assist opening in IE9?  I'd rather it opened with the Pale Moon browser (Firefox based).
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Plusnet Assist/IE9

Nope and if you look at the add-ons it puts in IE you will see why
bugbod
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 15-09-2012

Re: Plusnet Assist/IE9

OK. Bit of a bummer. I hate IE9 and Windows 7 won't let me go back to 8.
Thanks anyway.  Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Assist/IE9

A lot of us hate Plusnet Assist as well. If you know what you are doing it's totally unnecessary anyway.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
bugbod
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 15-09-2012

Re: Plusnet Assist/IE9

I've only been with Plusnet for a few days and I'm still finding my way around. Embarrassed
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Assist/IE9

Quote from: bugbod
OK. Bit of a bummer. I hate IE9 and Windows 7 won't let me go back to 8.
Thanks anyway.  Smiley

If you open Control Panel -> Programs And Features (large/small icons) / Control Panel -> Programs and then "View Installed updates" you should see IE9 (as Windows Internet Explorer 9, under "Microsoft Windows" updates) in the list for you to uninstall.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
bugbod
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 15-09-2012

Re: Plusnet Assist/IE9

Yes I can uninstall IE9, but  can't install IE8, it automatically reverts to installing IE9
oakeycooper
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 14-10-2012

Re: Plusnet Assist/IE9

i have downloaded plusnet assist in internet explorer, and when it has downloaded it doesnt appear on my screen, as it says it will launch, also when i try to do this it says that plusnet assist is not installed on your computer and asks me to download again what am i doing wrong hope somebody can help me please?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Assist/IE9

There's absolutely nothing that Plusnet assist will do for you that can't be done manually given the right knowledge/advice. A lot of us won't touch PN Assist with a barge pole because it also interferes with things we don't want touched.
Tell us what problem do you want to solve with PN Assist and we'll give you advice.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
bugbod
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 15-09-2012

Re: Plusnet Assist/IE9

Sorry for disappearing. i just wanted to run the computer check thing. I think it's in Plusnet Assist, only I've uninstalled it now.