cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Peering with TV Catchup?

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,656
Registered: 13-06-2007

Peering with TV Catchup?

Does PN have any plans to peer with the TV Catchup ISP to enable their HQ streaming to work over the PN network? Currently PN users are unable to use the HQ service as they only allow those on ISPs who are peering TV Catchup to use the new service! Sad
6 REPLIES
Nick_Russell
Grafter
Posts: 553
Registered: 10-05-2007

Re: Peering with TV Catchup?

Hello. I can use TV catchup without any problems.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,958
Thanks: 750
Fixes: 69
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Peering with TV Catchup?

Same here and I wasn't aware that they had variable bit rates available.
@drunkenmonkey have you got any more information about the HQ streaming that I could take a look at?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,442
Thanks: 688
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Peering with TV Catchup?

http://forums.tvcatchup.com/showthread.php?t=8095
http://forums.tvcatchup.com/showpost.php?p=73866&postcount=8
Quote
Here is some info from one of the admins:
Quote
Originally Posted by TVC_Mason View Post
Hi All
For the higher quality streams, it is necessary for TVCatchup to upgrade the size of its connection to your ISP. TVCatchup has been upgrading connections since the beginning of the year, but it requires the co-operation of your ISP.
In simple terms, a bigger cable from their network to ours. TVCatchup is partnered with almost every ISP already, the issue with the HQ streams is that the connections are not large enough to cope with 20,000 people watching a 1.5mb/s stream!
TVCatchup is working with the ISPs yet to be upgraded. We hope to have the upgrades done by the World Cup, so for now, affected users do not need to do anything - the HQ streams will be available to all very shortly.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,958
Thanks: 750
Fixes: 69
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Peering with TV Catchup?

Where are you suppose to be able to find these HQ listings or am I missing something obvious?
Will probably drop TV Catchup a mail once I've got my head around it just to make sure that they don't need us to proactively do anything.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,442
Thanks: 688
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Peering with TV Catchup?

I wondered that! Perhaps they only display them if they know your IP is on one of the ISPs with the updated peering.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,958
Thanks: 750
Fixes: 69
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Peering with TV Catchup?

You could be right. I've dropped one of the forum admins an email anyway so we'll see what comes of that..

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵