cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PITA web browsing, win 8 / 8.1

JamesM
Grafter
Posts: 1,103
Registered: ‎24-06-2009

PITA web browsing, win 8 / 8.1

Since moving to Win 8, I have had a problem of webpages timing out for about 10 tries, then a few minutes later they open with no problem, no particular web pages, just any webpage at any time. I put this down to IE 10. So I switched to win 8.1 to use IE 11 and this had the same effect with web pages timing out. So I went back to Win 8 and IE 10 because IE 11 had a problem with BF4. With a fresh install of win 8 and IE 10, I decided to leave out Microsoft silverlight to see if it would fix the problem of webpages timing out, and it seems to have done the trick, 5 days and not a  timed out webpage, (touch wood).
8 REPLIES
JamesM
Grafter
Posts: 1,103
Registered: ‎24-06-2009

Re: PITA web browsing, win 8 / 8.1

Looks like I was wrong, webpages are still timing out, so Silverlight isn't the problem  Sad
I tried to modify my last post, rather than put this at the top of the posts again, but the modify tab wasn't there.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: PITA web browsing, win 8 / 8.1

Hmm, what's the message at the bottom of the browser when you get the delay (if any)? If it's resolving host or similar it'd seem to be a DNS issue, if it's anything else then either something with the connection or a slowdown on the server you're connecting to (though that's by no means the full set of possibilities unfortunately).
JamesM
Grafter
Posts: 1,103
Registered: ‎24-06-2009

Re: PITA web browsing, win 8 / 8.1

Here is what I wrote in another thread Matt,
"This is what I get when the webpages don't want to open, it keeps doing this for a few minutes, then it will start working again, any webpage lse is just an example.
"This page can't be displayed
•Make sure the web address http:// www .lse. co. uk is correct.
•Look for the page with your search engine.
•Refresh the page in a few minutes.
Fix connection problems"
When I click Fix connection problems, it says the website firewall is preventing it, or words to that effect"
Chris, I did a tracert when the page kept timing out and wouldn't let me post and then when it was ok,
Page kept timing out...
Tracing route to plus.net [212.159.8.2]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.2.1
  2    13 ms    12 ms    19 ms  lo0-central10.ptw-ag04.plus.net [195.166.128.194
]
  3    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  link-a-central10.ptw-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.15
6]
  4    12 ms    12 ms    48 ms  xe-7-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.252]
  5    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  te9-4.ptn-gw01.plus.net [195.166.129.33]
  6    23 ms    19 ms    19 ms  gi5-1.peh-cr02.plus.net [84.93.232.61]
  7    20 ms    21 ms    23 ms  po5.peh-cr01.plus.net [84.93.232.16]
  8    20 ms    22 ms    20 ms  vlan2658.peh-elb02.plus.net [84.93.232.53]
  9    24 ms    59 ms    24 ms  portal.plus.net [212.159.8.2]
Trace complete.
When the post had been sent and the page loaded normally..................
Tracing route to plus.net [212.159.8.2]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.2.1
  2    13 ms    16 ms    12 ms  lo0-central10.ptw-ag04.plus.net [195.166.128.194
]
  3    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  link-a-central10.ptw-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.15
6]
  4    15 ms    12 ms    13 ms  xe-7-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.252]
  5    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  te9-4.ptn-gw01.plus.net [195.166.129.33]
  6    23 ms    19 ms    19 ms  gi5-1.peh-cr02.plus.net [84.93.232.61]
  7    20 ms    19 ms    19 ms  po5.peh-cr01.plus.net [84.93.232.16]
  8    21 ms    21 ms    21 ms  vlan2658.peh-elb02.plus.net [84.93.232.53]
  9    21 ms    24 ms    20 ms  portal.plus.net [212.159.8.2]
Trace complete.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: PITA web browsing, win 8 / 8.1

Hmm. Next time it happens, could you please try a tracert to the affected website and see what happens there?
JamesM
Grafter
Posts: 1,103
Registered: ‎24-06-2009

Re: PITA web browsing, win 8 / 8.1

The tracert above was to PN when I was trying to post a reply in the PN forum yesterday Matt, every time I clicked post, the taskbar was a continuing circle, with waiting for PlusNet, then it times out and says the same as above,(replace LSE.co.uk with the PlusNet address).
I tried the Technicolor router you left when you came with Dave incase my Belkin was on its last legs, but the Technicolor does the same. It is not a huge problem, but gets frustrating when I am trying to buy something online and the web page sticks.
Only thing I haven't tried is the TSL and SSL settings in IE. I remember this happening the first time I tried Win 8, and then when I went back to Win 7 and IE 9, I can't remember there being a problem. I would like to go back to Win 7, but Win 8 has all the drivers for my Mobo, plus I don't have to install SP1 and the 3 hours of updates.  Cool
JamesM
Grafter
Posts: 1,103
Registered: ‎24-06-2009

Re: PITA web browsing, win 8 / 8.1

Now I am getting web pages that are opening with no pictures, just writing down the left hand side of the screen.
Second image is how it should look
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,424
Thanks: 19
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: PITA web browsing, win 8 / 8.1

Have you tried a different browser such as Firefox or Chrome ?
It could also be something as bizarre as a MTU size problem - I had big problems with an email server not so long ago which had a different MTU size to my router.
If it happens on two different browsers (MS and non MS) then do you have access to another machine you can test on ? That would rule out the connection.
JamesM
Grafter
Posts: 1,103
Registered: ‎24-06-2009

Re: PITA web browsing, win 8 / 8.1

Thanks for the reply picbits, I tried different MTU settings, with no luck, I did try Firefox a while back but didn't really have it on long enough to remember if it acted the same. What I have tried now is to disable my hardware firewall in the router and that seems to have done the trick. So now I have enabled the router firewall again and input the router homepage web address into trusted sites in the IE security settings and that seems to be working too.
Bottom line is that it seems IE 10 and 11 do not like my router. Belkins are super quick and secure, but maybe too secure.
Edit, I have had to turn off my router firewall again as Web pages were not opening.