cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PDF to Word

FIXED
Community Veteran
Posts: 7,979
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 8
Registered: 02-08-2007

PDF to Word

I have converted a few pdf documents to word and notice the document gets uploaded somewhere ( paid app for android) the document is then downloaded in word format.

For some reason my printer will print word documents but not pdf hence the need to convert them.

My question is, how secure is it converting documents in this way ? Whilst I have never needed to convert anything containing personal information it is possible in the future I might need to do so, ie Energy bill.

16 REPLIES
wisty
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 443
Thanks: 54
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: PDF to Word

Highly insecure would be my response. It depends on how much you trust the service supplier to

  a) not sell on information gleaned from the documents to marketing firms

  b) keep the data secure from hackers who might misuse it.

I personally would fix the issue of not being able to print PDF documents rather than squirting my life (insecurely?) around the cloud.

What kind of printer? What application are you using to open the PDF's?

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,051
Thanks: 196
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: PDF to Word

Yes it seems odd to me.

Why does the document need to be uploaded somewhere? It may be suspicious, or the fact it can't be converted on your phone locally I guess.

Also I don't understand why your printer will work with Word and not PDF's (say Adobe reader), I would try and get that problem sorted, to stop you the hassle of converting manually (as @wisty said) and worrying about security.

Post some more detail of your setup and I am sure someone here can help.

Community Veteran
Posts: 7,979
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 8
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: PDF to Word

OK, details as follows,

Printing from Samsung tablet S to Brother laser printer via wifi.

Microsoft word documents and all other stuff print ok using the brother app for this printer, the app gives you the usual range of choices from where to print such as email, documents, web page etc but if I download a pdf file and then try to print it I get a message that the format is not supported ?

That message only appears with a pdf file everything else prints ok.

Brother laser printer model HL-3150 CDW

The Brother app is up to date

 

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16,802
Thanks: 1,926
Fixes: 132
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: PDF to Word

@gleneagles

Have you tried the Brother iPrint&Scan app?

 

I have just tested it on my Galaxy A3 and Brother HL 2250DN series and it printed with no problems albeit a bit slower than fom the PC. The HL-3150 CDW is in the supported Printers List.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

TheRoadCrew
Grafter
Posts: 46
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: 14-05-2017

Re: PDF to Word

PDF support is listed a s a Key Feature of the iPrint&Scan app; is that what you have installed?

Pete11
Pro
Posts: 649
Thanks: 185
Fixes: 4
Registered: 17-02-2017

Re: PDF to Word

How to convert a PDF file to Word:
  1. Open a file in Acrobat.
  2. Click on the Export PDF tool in the right pane.
  3. Choose Microsoft Word as your export format, and then choose Word Document.
  4. Click Export. ...
  5. Name the Word file and save it in a desired location as a .doc file.  Thumbs Up
A float tip is pleasing in its appearance and even more pleasing in its disappearance.
Growing old is inevitable...But growing up is optional.
Community Veteran
Posts: 7,979
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 8
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: PDF to Word


Mav wrote:

@gleneagles

Have you tried the Brother iPrint&Scan app?

 

I have just tested it on my Galaxy A3 and Brother HL 2250DN series and it printed with no problems albeit a bit slower than fom the PC. The HL-3150 CDW is in the supported Printers List.


Yes, that is the app I am using.

Community Veteran
Posts: 7,979
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 8
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: PDF to Word

@Pete11

Thanks, will see how I get on with that idea.

Community Veteran
Posts: 7,979
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 8
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: PDF to Word

@Pete11

Yes Acrobat would do it but just one snag you have to pay monthly for it, I have no problem paying a few pounds for a app but only as a one off payment rather than pay monthly even though the cost is very low but thanks for the suggestion.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16,802
Thanks: 1,926
Fixes: 132
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: PDF to Word

Have you tried uninstalling then reinstalling iPrint&scan? I was using version 2.2.2.1 on my Samsung A5 (not A3 as typed in error above).

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Pete11
Pro
Posts: 649
Thanks: 185
Fixes: 4
Registered: 17-02-2017

Re: PDF to Word

@gleneagles

Pay for it, that's weird. I got mine from here and it works fine (no, it's not a dodgy site).

https://adobe-reader.en.softonic.com/download?ex=DSK-309.2

 Scroll down and you'll see the free one.

A float tip is pleasing in its appearance and even more pleasing in its disappearance.
Growing old is inevitable...But growing up is optional.
Community Veteran
Posts: 7,979
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 8
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: PDF to Word

Thanks

Will try a fresh install.

One thing that might be causing the issue is that I keep getting a message about samsung printer app download, clearly I do not want that but getting rid of some Samsung apps is not that straight forward

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,646
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: PDF to Word

Have you tried a PDF to postscript converter?

Community Veteran
Posts: 7,979
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 8
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: PDF to Word

@Pete11

Yes acrobat is free but if you go to export to pdf on the menu  you are taken to another list which shows that it costs £1.24 a month to convert files to word, excel etc.

note I am using a android tablet perhaps if using windows that option is free ?