cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

P2P application for testing

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

P2P application for testing

I don't use P2P, however I need to conduct a test where I saturate my line with download P2P traffic and then test something else.
Could someone point me in the right direction for an application and what to download - I presume to saturate the line it will need to be something with plenty of seeds.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
14 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,316
Thanks: 1,663
Fixes: 183
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: P2P application for testing

download utorrent from utorrent.com
and then a ubuntu distro from here http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop/alternative-downloads

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: P2P application for testing

make sure that it opens a port properly as well, of the speed will suffer. It should use upnp if you have it enabled in your router, or manually set a port in both.
BTW I use Transmission but any client will do.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: P2P application for testing

uTorrent worked and saturated the line as I wanted. Just a pity that last night the test I wanted to do was invalidated as the PN current line speed was slow catching up with a drop in IP Profile I'd had some time earlier (it's caught up this morning and is now correct).
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,789
Registered: 08-06-2007

Re: P2P application for testing

Just a point with torrents:
If you wanted to test the traffic prioritisation of your downstream, make sure that you severely limit the upstream bandwidth used.  Incoming traffic is (obviously) prioritised by the ellacoyas.  However, the upstream has no such prioritisation and as such if you saturate it, your downstream (and all other traffic) will suffer greatly!
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: P2P application for testing

Thanks, I was already aware of that and had set the upstream to the minimum.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: P2P application for testing

Well I've proved my point - load up my line with downloads and VoIP becomes totally unusable.
See http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,108876.0.html
Speculation was that it was possible that the 0x00 was being inserted at my end and that the VoIP would actually be OK.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,111
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: P2P application for testing

Feel free to hassle Dave Smiley
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,469
Thanks: 590
Fixes: 49
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: P2P application for testing

I don't use X-Lite but I do use voip on both a hardware IP Phone and other softphones 3CX and Twinkle ( both on Linux ). If there's anything I can do to help investigate then then either Jelv ( or Dave ) feel free to drop me a PM.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,316
Thanks: 1,663
Fixes: 183
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: P2P application for testing

with upload capped at 300k and something downloading unlimited my VoIP is working fine.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: P2P application for testing

Dave and I had a long session the other day. He's now got three more Wireshark traces to investigate.
What is interesting is that the traffic classification is different if I use X-lite, 3CXphone or Zoiper!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,111
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: P2P application for testing

We changed from e30s to e100s this year.  I'm willing to bet we've got some signatures which no longer work.  Undecided
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,469
Thanks: 590
Fixes: 49
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: P2P application for testing

Quote
What is interesting is that the traffic classification is different if I use X-lite, 3CXphone or Zoiper!

I assume its not as simple as the RTP port being used ? Having a poke around I notice that X-Lite defaults to 8000 whereas I thought that RTP ports were normally >10000
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: P2P application for testing

I've tried changing the port range to above 10000 - no difference.
Thanks for the idea though, anything is worth a try.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,469
Thanks: 590
Fixes: 49
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: P2P application for testing

I sort of guessed it wouldn't be that simple.  Sad
Given that RTP can use almost any port I suspect the Traffic management needs to be a bit 'cleverer' at identifying it, rather than using just the obvious ports.