cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Out with old router in with new router

LastRoMan
Grafter
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎15-09-2007

Out with old router in with new router

I have had a new Thomson router from Plusnet to replace my old Solwise SAR130 - I am not using a wireless connection but a LAN and will do likewise with my new router.. Please will someone tell me how to change the settings so that Windows (XP Pro SP3) recognises my new router when I plug it in. As this is my second Thomson box I do not want to make a mistake. The help instructions assume a first time router.
In the TCP/IP box there is both an IP address and a Default Gateway for my old router (192.168.7.2 & 192.168.7.1 respectively)  - currently in use. Is it simply a matter of deleting these?
Thanks in advance. Conrad
14 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,330
Thanks: 2,181
Fixes: 355
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Out with old router in with new router

You shouldn't need to do anything, just plug the new cable in and away you go Smiley

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Out with old router in with new router

Unless you set the IP address etc manually, in which case just change them to automatic.  Wink
LastRoMan
Grafter
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎15-09-2007

Re: Out with old router in with new router

Thank you HPsauce - that is the advice I was looking for. I had tried as suggested by Adiewoo but came to the same situation as my other box.
I have now connected the new Thomson router - sadly ,in retrospect, the first box Plusnet sent me would probably have worked had I known then to 'Obtain an IP address automatically.'' 

Thanks again. Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Out with old router in with new router

Don't forget - make sure the wireless is disabled as you are not using it
LastRoMan
Grafter
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎15-09-2007

Re: Out with old router in with new router

I wondered about that OldJim.
Currently it is flashing on and off - forgive my ignorance: how do I disable it?
Would you also say whether it is best to leave the router always on or allow it to go off when my PC is off (I am being moved over to 21CN trial)?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Out with old router in with new router

I leave mine on 24/7
Regarding wireless - it should say in the manual but I haven't got one so I can't help
Edit - in the v6 it is under Access Point settings
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: Out with old router in with new router

There's a button on the front of the router; push it for about 10 seconds and it toggles wireless router on/off.
With earlier versions of firmware this was reported as being unreliable, but the current firmware works ok for me.
LastRoMan
Grafter
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎15-09-2007

Re: Out with old router in with new router

Thanks to you both Jim and Mal.
In the meantime I had googled for an answer and came up with this link for anyone who may be interested
http://cherrybyte.blogspot.com/2009/03/thomson-speedtouch-585v7-rebooting-turn.html ; I am yet to find a manual for the device.
Certainly holding in the Wireless button is the simplest way - though I have learned a little more about the Router by adjusting the setting in the configuration page.
I am grateful to all who offerred me help - hopefully I can do likewise for someone else in the future.
Conrad  Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: Out with old router in with new router


For some reason - finding documentation for these products can take a bit of hunting around.
I'm on a different PC at the moment so can't find the manual specifically for the v7
but this may help some more:
http://www.thomson.net/GlobalEnglish/customer-service/SpeedTouchDocuments/xDSLGA-Wireless_SetupUserG...
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,001
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Out with old router in with new router

This is the User Guide for the TG585V7
http://www.thomsonbroadbandpartner.com/getfile.php?id=5349
This is the linky for the CLI guide as well.
http://www.speedtouch.nl/docs/TG585-v7_CLI_guide_R74.pdf
Hope it helps
LastRoMan
Grafter
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎15-09-2007

Re: Out with old router in with new router

Thanks again. I have downloaded the manuals.
At first I wondered why Thomson did not make it easy to get hold of these until I went to their site - the web enquiry box http://www.thomson.net/GlobalEnglish/customer-service/ProductsAndServices/Pages/ContactForm.aspx was out of order
and it was 50p /minute  to ring their customer services!
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,212
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Out with old router in with new router

On an unrelated issue, does anyone know where I might find the Dlink-2640B CLI router manual?

JohnGalloway
Grafter
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎14-09-2007

Re: Out with old router in with new router

dear axis
not sure if you ever found your manual, but there's one here:
http://ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Broadband/dsl2640B/Manual/dsl2640B_Manual_100.zip
or possibly here:
http://preview.tinyurl.com/9szlaq
wixi
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,212
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Out with old router in with new router

Nice try - unfortunately they are for the web interface.
I also tried a couple of other files - but still no luck. Cry