cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Odd Reverse DNS Hostname

Starmans
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2015

Odd Reverse DNS Hostname

I use IRC quite often and on connect the server resolves your IP address hostname and displays it but I received a slightly different hostname to normal.
Host: mail.kyles-on-scotland.co.uk
IP: 81.174.183.53
Didn't know if this is intended or perhaps this IP address shouldn't be in the dynamic pool.
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Odd Reverse DNS Hostname

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,280
Thanks: 2,162
Fixes: 348
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Odd Reverse DNS Hostname

suspect it's probably an old rdns entry from a static ip. needs removing.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

RPMozley
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-11-2011

Re: Odd Reverse DNS Hostname

That's probably most likely, as with our old static IP it's still on a custom rDNS entry (currently waiting for someone to action the removal).
That's RPM to you!!
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,682
Thanks: 665
Fixes: 166
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Odd Reverse DNS Hostname

I'm getting it looked into from here.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
C1Rider
Grafter
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: Odd Reverse DNS Hostname

Is this any help Huh
checking name shows :-
Non-authoritative answer:
Name:  mail.kyles-on-scotland.co.uk
Address: 31.216.1.240
checking ip address shows :-
Non-authoritative answer:
53.183.174.81.in-addr.arpa      name = mail.kyles-on-scotland.co.uk.
Authoritative answers can be found from:
183.174.81.in-addr.arpa nameserver = ns1.force9.net.
183.174.81.in-addr.arpa nameserver = ns2.force9.net.
Cheers..  Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Odd Reverse DNS Hostname

Looks like that the rDNS on static IPs which have been moved hasn't been updated / reset.
Could be a one off, but given the recent blunder where static IPs had all their rDNS reset to defaults, I'm going to so blunder again.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)