cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

'No service listening on remote port' after Windows 10 upgrade

bucksplit
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-08-2015

'No service listening on remote port' after Windows 10 upgrade

I recently installed Windows 10. Everything seems to be fine, including mail, but when I try to open any browser I get this message via my HP Assistant: 'The proxy server is refusing connections... No service listening on remote port... The remote device or resource won't accept the connection... Contact your ISP...'
Can anyone help?
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: 'No service listening on remote port' after Windows 10 upgrade

something has set internet connectivity to use a proxy server which you shouldn't - probably windows or the browser - this may help you to disable it http://www.cnet.com/uk/how-to/windows-10-settings-menu-the-network-internet-tab/
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,915
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: 'No service listening on remote port' after Windows 10 upgrade

It's mostly computer viruses that set a proxy server, in my experience.
bucksplit
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-08-2015

Re: 'No service listening on remote port' after Windows 10 upgrade

Quote from: Oldjim
something has set internet connectivity to use a proxy server which you shouldn't - probably windows or the browser - this may help you to disable it http://www.cnet.com/uk/how-to/windows-10-settings-menu-the-network-internet-tab/

Thanks, Oldjim. Will check your link out.
bucksplit
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-08-2015

Re: 'No service listening on remote port' after Windows 10 upgrade

Quote from: ReedRichards
It's mostly computer viruses that set a proxy server, in my experience.

Oh please I hope not!!! Cry
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,915
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: 'No service listening on remote port' after Windows 10 upgrade

Yes, really.  But the virus may have already been removed by your security software, leaving only the changes it made to your settings.