cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nighthawk X4S D7800 causing hub to disconnect.

MikePearce
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 26-04-2017

Nighthawk X4S D7800 causing hub to disconnect.

It was with great delight I installed my plusnet hub and threw my Sky router in the bin.

 

I plugged it into my box fresh Nighthawk X4S D7800 as I wanted to make sure the connection was stable before I used just the Nighthawk and not the hub.

 

At first it seemed fine, but the connection kept dropping: flashing orange, solid orange, blue. It seemed intermittant. Anyway, I thought it was maybe line-testing or something so ignored it. Eventually it became very frequent, so I assumed it wasn't right.

 

Phone support, they were very helpful, I had a phone without a microfilter, so I added that and it still disconnected, so I unplugged the phone, still disconnected. I then wondered if it was my tatty old cables, so I bought a new one and ran it directly from the main socket into the living room for the hub. Still the same problem.

 

So, through trial and error I unplugged and replugged everything until I worked out that the Nighthawk was causing the random disconnects. It's only behaving as a Wireless Access Point, not a modem, but without it plugged in (in fact, I powered it down) the blue light remains constant. I plugged in an old ASUS RT-N66U and everything is working fine.

I'd like to use the Nighthawk, as it looks like it belongs on a spaceship and does lots of fancy things, but not if it's going to dick about with my connection.

Any ideas?

7 REPLIES
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,180
Thanks: 748
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Nighthawk X4S D7800 causing hub to disconnect.

Is the firmware on the Nighthawk up to date?
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
MikePearce
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 26-04-2017

Re: Nighthawk X4S D7800 causing hub to disconnect.

Yeah, it was the first thing I did.

The hub just disconnected again with the ASUS, so I've powered down the Freenas server in case it was that. So now it's just the router, my PC and various wireless devices like phones, pads and the echo dot.
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,180
Thanks: 748
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Nighthawk X4S D7800 causing hub to disconnect.

Do you have a Google Play device?
Not so long back they were causing Hub Ones to reboot.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 231
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Nighthawk X4S D7800 causing hub to disconnect.

Which service have you contracted wit from PN?

And why not just connect the D7800 directly ?

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,237
Thanks: 977
Fixes: 83
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Nighthawk X4S D7800 causing hub to disconnect.

@MikePearce, I've got a suspicious feeling that something to do with the traffic you're transferring upstream when the Netgear is connected is making you subject to this.

I've pushed a config update to your router, so give things another go when you next get the chance. I'm interested to know whether or not it's helped.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

MikePearce
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 26-04-2017

Re: Nighthawk X4S D7800 causing hub to disconnect.

Hi,

So, I have a NVIDIA shield connected via ethernet and my TV has Google Play Movies - could that be it?

I'm on unlimited Fibre, with plusnet.

I've tried connecting just the D7800, but it seems I'm not clever enough to do so, as I cannot get it to work - it won't auto configure and I can't work out the right set of settings.

I've got some logs from a disconnect here though if it's useful:

15:00:59, 27 Apr. (70748.160000) CWMP: session closed due to error: Could not resolve host
15:00:56, 27 Apr. (70745.370000) CWMP: Server URL: https://dbtpnhdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
15:00:56, 27 Apr. (70745.360000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
15:00:53, 27 Apr. (70742.400000) PTM over DSL is up
15:00:22, 27 Apr. (70710.930000) CWMP: session closed due to error: Could not resolve host
15:00:22, 27 Apr. (70710.880000) CWMP: Server URL: https://dbtpnhdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
15:00:22, 27 Apr. (70710.870000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
15:00:21, 27 Apr. (70710.570000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 4 VALUE CHANGE
15:00:19, 27 Apr. (70708.470000) PTM over DSL is down after 4 minutes uptime
15:00:19, 27 Apr. (70708.460000) PPPoE is down after 3 minutes uptime [Waiting for Underlying Connection (WAN Ethernet 7 -​ Down)]
15:00:16, 27 Apr. (70705.370000) PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]
15:00:14, 27 Apr. OUT: BLOCK [65] First packet is Invalid (Packet not in tcp window: TCP [192.168.1.64]:37156-​>[66.102.1.188]:5228 on ppp3)
15:00:12, 27 Apr. BLOCKED 1 more packets (because of Default policy)
15:00:11, 27 Apr. BLOCKED 3 more packets (because of Default policy)

There's also a lot of this going on: 

15:04:51, 27 Apr. IN: BLOCK [9] Packet invalid in connection (Invalid tcp flags for current tcp state: TCP [216.58.201.14]:80-​>[91.125.234.47]:53742 on ppp3)
15:04:51, 27 Apr. BLOCKED 1 more packets (because of Packet invalid in connection)
15:04:51, 27 Apr. IN: BLOCK [15] Default policy (TCP [54.71.137.115]:443-​>[91.125.234.47]:62174 on ppp3)
15:04:51, 27 Apr. BLOCKED 4 more packets (because of Default policy)
15:04:50, 27 Apr. OUT: BLOCK [9] Packet invalid in connection (Packet not in tcp window: TCP [192.168.1.78]:61293-​>[216.58.198.174]:443 on ppp3)
MikePearce
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 26-04-2017

Re: Nighthawk X4S D7800 causing hub to disconnect.

@bobpullen I think this might have made it worse - it was stable with the ASUS, but now it's crapping out with orange lights again.

 

Edit: I've power-cycled it and this seems to settled it down, I'll try again with the D7800 later and report back.