cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Vodafone "Sure Signal"

Jenkers
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎27-11-2009

New Vodafone "Sure Signal"

Hi Everyone,
This is pretty much addressed to anyone on these forums who has recently bought the Vodafone Sure Signal. In brief, I had to purchase one of these little miracle workers, as I have just moved house, and found to my dismay that the mobile phone signal was so poor I was unable to use it at all. The idea of this box of tricks is to boost a 3G signal around the household, however, for some reason, the Sure Signal will not configure itself to the router supplied by Plusnet (white Speedtouch) but will with a spare Netgear DG834GT I have. I wonder if any of you have come across a similar issue? If so, I would be glad to hear any pieces of wisdom.
Thanks in advance,
Jenkers.
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New Vodafone "Sure Signal"

Moved to this forum as it looks to be the correct place given that this unit connects using the router ethernet post
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New Vodafone "Sure Signal"

Which Speedtouch router is it - many of them are white - if new I assume it is a Thomson 585
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,899
Thanks: 942
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: New Vodafone "Sure Signal"

Just had a bit of a google and it appears that the Sure Signal ( used to be called Access Gateway ) makes a VPN connection via your router to the Vodafone servers. There is a problem with the latest TG585v7 router f/w and VPN, see this thread http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,82852.0.html. Try downgrading the firmware on the TG585 to Version 7 as detailed in ths libray article http://community.plus.net/library/hardware/how-to-upgradedowngrade-the-firmware-on-the-thomson-585v7...
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,541
Thanks: 1,241
Fixes: 100
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: New Vodafone "Sure Signal"

There's one of these beauties behind my desk at work. No problems with it but it is plugged into a 2Wire 1800HG and not a 585v7. I'd be interested to know whether or not the PPTP removal from the version 8 Thomson firmware causes issues because if it does the guys on the helpdesk would probably be keen to know.
As far as I know the femtocell boxes use IPSec and not PPTP.
@Jenkers, try downgrading to the version 7 firmware as per the Community Library article I wrote and let me know how you get on...

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: New Vodafone "Sure Signal"


FYI. Will be getting one of these connected when I return from a business trip in two weeks time, it will be connected to a DG834Gv2.
I am on BBYW1 so should this work or is the Ellanoya throttling the IPSec data too much on that account type?
How much data does it send/receive on days when there are no calls?
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed