Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Mint User - Help Needed

bobboulby
Grafter

New Mint User - Help Needed

Hi all
I've been thinking of dabbling with Linux for some time and have just acquired an old laptop so thought I'd give it a go. After browsing this forum, I've decided to start with Mint Gloria and I've just installed it from an ISO file burned to CD. I've done a clean install and overwritten XP which was previously on the laptop. I've also downloaded all the updates.
First impressions are very positive although as a Windows user I'm still learning how it all works.  This leads me on however to my first (of potentially many) questions:
1. I seem to have a problem with help. Clicking on  help menu items or buttons brings up an error. The attached screen-shot 1 is an example when  I right click on the bottom panel (menu bar in Windows) and select the help icon. It looks like something hasn't installed properly although I didn't notice any errors during the installation process.
2. I've currently only got a wired connection as the laptop doesn't have a wireless card. Before I buy one, are there any limitations with PCMCIA wireless cards or can I just buy a cheap one off eBay?
3. If I go in to  “Appearance Preferences” in the “Control Centre” and try and change the “Visual Effects”, I get a “desktop effects could not be enabled” error (see screen-shot).
Any help gratefully received?
Thanks - Bob
42 REPLIES 42
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

Re: New Mint User - Help Needed

bob,
Not too sure on 1 & 3 since I'm a Ubuntu  rather than a Mint person myself, you'll have to wait for poppy, she's a Mint user I think. However AFAIK Mint is based on Ubuntu and so the underlying guts is similar, this https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/WirelessCardsSupported should help decide which PCMCIA card will work.