cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New IP address

pleasenlighten
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-11-2007

New IP address

Hi,
is it possible to change my Internet  address, whilst staying with Plusnet?
9 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,296
Thanks: 2,170
Fixes: 350
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: New IP address

if you're on dynamic ip you should be able to disconnect and reconnect to get a new IP address or are you on static?
why do you wish to change?

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

pleasenlighten
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-11-2007

Re: New IP address

Hi Dvorak,
I would like to disguise my locale as I think this helps with anonymity and therefore security. I have considered  a VPN service but having read from  Purevpn.com  ,the possible problems with router,,firewall and registry,I don`t feel confident with configuring these.
Don`t know anything about the dynamics you mention... sounds interesting.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,296
Thanks: 2,170
Fixes: 350
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: New IP address

changing your ip address with PN won't hide your location or make you any more anonymous.
for a simple VPN look at https://www.privateinternetaccess.com/ they have windows / mac / android clients that do things simply for you without the need to worry about technical issues.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,683
Thanks: 666
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: New IP address

Your account is currently on a static IP, meaning you'll be given the same IP address each time you connect to the Internet. If you want to switch to a dynamic IP, just let me know and I'll sort that out for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
pleasenlighten
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-11-2007

Re: New IP address

Thanks for that,Dvorak, I will have a look at it.
Hi Chris, Are there any issues with the `dynamic` format...ie  slower service ,cost  etc? Don`t understand why there is a choice?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: New IP address

Do you ever need to connect to your router or anything on your network from elsewhere? Do you use anything like the thinkbroadband quality meter?
The former is easier with a static IP the latter is impossible without a static IP.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
pleasenlighten
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-11-2007

Re: New IP address

Hi jelve,
i don`t use networking just a couple of laptops independently from home and ocationally wifi hotspots
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: New IP address

You just need to confirm that you want your static IP removed then - you'll get a different IP each time you connect.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
pleasenlighten
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-11-2007

Re: New IP address

Hi dvorak,
You say
changing your ip address with PN won't hide your location or make you any more anonymous.
for a simple VPN look at https://www.privateinternetaccess.com/ they have windows / mac / android clients that do things simply for you without the need to worry about technical issues.

I have signed up to PIA above and after some problems connecting I managed to change my IP address a few times on both my laptops yesterday ......and now today ,I cannot get a connection.
I`m wondering whether I might go the Dynamic  IP but you say it doesn`t hide my location or make me anonymous. Surely this is very similar to a VPN service without the control?