cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Networking Problems

kesimmonds
Dabbler

Networking Problems

I'm new to networking, but have bought my wife a laptop for Christmas and have been trying to tie everything together, but have some problems.
Both my desktop PC and the laptop use XP, SP2, updated.
I've been using a Linksys WAG354G wireless gateway on my own PC, with a wired connection from PC to one of the ethernet ports on the Gateway, for a year or so now.
As Administrator, I installed a Linksys wireless notebook adapter into the laptop using the Linksys software supplied. It works fine, and if I log off, reboot, and logon as Admin, it works, and if I then switch to my wife's limited user account, it still works.
However, if I reboot, and login directly to my wife's account without going through the Admin logon, it doesn't work, nor will it work after switching (without rebooting) to the Admin account.
The adapter doesn't 'see' the Gateway at all, in fact it doesn't seem to fire-up, run, call it whatever. I can bring up the adapters control panel, go through the various tabs, but not operate any of the buttons in those tabs, it seems completely locked out.
Is this normal that the Admin has to log in first, then switch to the limited user account to allow that user to access the internet? Or should the limited user be able to access the internet by logging in on their own? If the latter, can someone please explain, in very simple terms, how to achieve this?
I am not at all conversant with assigning permissions, so nice and simple please.
Next problem.
The Gateway manual says
Since the Gateway has wireless capabilities, it can bridge your wired and wireless networks, letting them communicate with each other